Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for September 19th, 2011

One Second After

OK, I lied, I did manage to read one book this week. I don’t know how but I did.

One Second After by William R Forstchen

4 stars

(Excerpt from Good Reads) New York Times best selling author William R. Forstchen now brings us a story which can be all too terrifyingly real…a story in which one man struggles to save his family and his small North Carolina town after America loses a war, in one second, a war that will send America back to the Dark Ages…A war based upon a weapon, an Electro Magnetic Pulse (EMP).  A weapon that may already be in the hands of our enemies. </I>Months before publication, One Second After has already been cited on the floor of Congress as a book all Americans should read, a book already being discussed in the corridors of the Pentagon as a truly realistic look at a weapon and its awesome power to destroy the entire United States, literally within one second. It is a weapon that the Wall Street Journal warns could shatter America. In the tradition of On the Beach, Fail Safe and Testament, this book, set in a typical American town, is a dire warning of what might be our future…and our end.

On a typical day, in Black Mountain, NC, John is getting ready to celebrate his youngest daughters 12th birthday. Just before the party, he is talking to his friend in Washington when suddenly they lose power. But it’s not just power. Cars, cell phones, anything with a computer chip in it is dead. John has a feeling that he knows what’s going on. Years prior he did a project on the affect of an Electromagnetic Pulse (EMP) being set off. An EMP would basically fry anything electronic.

Chaos breaks out. Of course, people panic and start looting. Then they try to take control of the older vehicles that are still running. There is also martial law, which some people take too far. After the initial panic, people start dying from medical problems that need urgent care that there is none. After that, people will start dying from lack of food. Then there are the raveling gangs that are starting to circle. All of this happens with little work from outside the mountains and no help expected soon.

I admit that I started reading this on 9/11. This book got a lot of hype but I really didn’t know much of what it was about, beyond the EMP going off. I did like the book. It does well in describing what is going to happen if everyone is cut off. I will say that it was rather tame about what people are going to do. For example, if you look at the behavior of people after Katrina, this was a relatively tame story.

It was heart breaking how this affected John’s family, yes I was crying a couple times. I did like how it told about how easy infections and illnesses were going to be. Also how lack of medicine is going to affect other people. I think this is one area that most people don’t think about when a disaster happens. Everyone is more worried about food and water. But what happens when you need antibiotics, insulin, and Prozac.

My complaint comes from the interactions of people. Yes, there was the looting, rape, and cannibalism. But for the most part it was like because they were in a small town, where everyone knows everyone else, they just along semi peacefully. Something just irked me about that. I guess because human nature is nothing like that in the real world.

Anyway, this is a really good book. I think people should read this to get an idea of what is going to happen. And not just because of an EMP going off, but because of a natural disaster or even an invasion.

Advertisements

Read Full Post »

Well, mama cat can home from the Humane Society last night. I felt real bad, you could tell that she was hurting. So I put her in a collapsible crate to keep her from climbing up in the rafters. Yes, I was out smarted by a cat. She got out of the crate and is now in the rafters. I think it would be worse to try and get her back in the crate than to leave her alone right now.

I did get to play with the kittens and to give them a kitten wipe bath with one of our students from Krav Maga, Kristel. Here are pictures of them after their faux bath.

Here is Number 1. She was the first one to be caught. We have yet to name her. She looks just like mommy except she is long hair. Yes, she is sitting on the top of the garage door.

Here is Fellini (left) and Miss Bity (right). Fellini is the one that took the leap of faith and was gone as soon as she kit the ground when we tried to catch them by hand. She is a cute tuxedo with lots of personality. I’ve managed to get biten twice by her along with numerous scratches.

Miss Bity got her name from Mr Bity in Kick Ass and that she has managed to take several people out with those teeth. She took out a vet tech on Friday and me when she escaped at the vets. Then when I tried to put her in a carrier Saturday so we could clean out the garage, she tried to escape then went psycho kitty on me as I tried to force her back in.

I think we are going to start calling this one Sneaky. We saw her this morning in a cardboard box and then the next thing we knew she was in another pile of stuff. I think we have underestimated her sneakiness (Mr Deeds, 2002). She is such a pretty calico and she is so well behaved when you catch her and hold her.

I don’t have a picture of Mama yet. We are going to have to find a home for here because the kittens keep following her lead. Three of them were in the rafters this morning. So, I’m looking for someone that needs a barn cat or has time to socialize her. I don’t want to just release her back out to the street because so much can happen to her.

Read Full Post »