Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for July 23rd, 2015

23330703

Timothy Other: The Boy Who Climbed the Marzipan Mountain by L. Sydney Abel

4 stars

(Excerpt from Goodreads) 12 year-old adventurer, the intriguingly named Timothy Other, escapes the Dreams and Hopes Orphanage and travels to the bizarre world of Marzipan Mountain, where he befriends some amazing creatures. With the help of his friends, Timothy seeks to discover his true origins and returns to the Orphanage. He becomes embroiled in a matter of life and death and faces the evil forces that crave the secret of ‘Golden Life’.

Timothy is an orphan living at the Dreams and Hopes Orphanage. Things are not really going well there and Timothy makes an escape. While on his adventure he meets several different characters and goes on many adventures. All the while Timothy learns more about his life then returns to the orphanage.

I really enjoyed this story. Timothy goes on such adventures and meets strange characters. He is trying to find out more about his past. But that is not that only thing that he finds. I loved the different locations he finds himself. It kind of reminds me of Alice in Wonderland.

In the end most of our questions are answered but there are some that are left open and I think that there could be a sequel. I do think that this would be better geared to mid-grade readers but I think that for the most part anyone that does read Timothy Other would like it.

In the end I enjoyed this book and I think that kids would really like it too.

For more information on Timothy Other or to purchase the book make sure to check out Amazon, Barnes and Noble, Goodreads, and L. Sydney Abel’s website.

I received this book for free from the author in exchange for an honest review.

Read Full Post »

23399004

Crazy Mountain Kiss (Sean Stranahan Mystery – 4) by Keith McCafferty

5 stars

(Excerpt from Goodreads) In the latest addition to this acclaimed series, PI Stranahan and Sheriff Ettinger reunite to investigate a young girl’s death

It’s April, but there’s still snow on the Montana mountains the day a member of the Madison River Liar and Fly Tiers club finds a Santa hat in the chimney of his rented cabin. With the flue clogged and desperate to make a fire, he climbs up to the roof, only to find the body of a teenage girl wedged into the chimney. When Sheriff Martha Ettinger and her team arrive to extract the body they identify the victim as Cinderella “Cindy” Huntingdon, a promising young rodeo star, missing since November.

Was Cindy murdered? Or running for her life—and if so, from whom? Cindy’s mother, Etta, hires private detective Sean Stranahan to find out. Jasper Fey, the girl’s stepfather, believes moving on is the only way to heal. But Etta’s not willing to let it go, and neither are Sean or Martha, who find clues to the death in the mysterious legends of the Crazy Mountains. The fourth book in McCafferty’s mystery series features a brisk, savvy plot and charming yet authentic characters—perfect for fans of C. J. Box and Craig Johnson.

In April, a young woman’s body is found stuffed in a chimney. She is Cindy, an upcoming rodeo star that disappeared last November with a ranch hand. Because of her disappearance the police don’t really know how to treat this case. Cindy’s mother just can’t let it go that someone happened and is refereed to Sean Stranahan.

Sean is laid back and hates technology. He investigates the lives of various characters from the rodeo crowd, ranchers, and many others. He meets some good folk and others that could be considered an odd duck. His relationship with Martha also keeps things interesting for his investigation.

I admit that this is my first Sean Stranahan book. I’m sure if I would have read the other three in the series it would have made more sense about Sean’s relation to Martha. But I didn’t feel very lost jumping into book four. This is a casual mystery, it’s not as fast paced as other books but it does remind me of the Longmire series. After you get into the book a little ways it does pick up.

I grew up in Montana so it was interesting to me to read about it. I did laugh because you will find all kinds of people there, just like Sean meet in the book. Sean was a great laid back character. I also felt so bad for Etta; you can’t help but feel bad for her wanting to know what happened to Cindy.

This is a really great mystery. There is a great story and wonderful characters. I will definitely be checking out the first three books in this series.

For more information on Crazy Mountain Kiss or to purchase this book make sure to check out Amazon, Barnes and Noble, Goodreads, and Keith McCafferty’s website.

I received this book for free from Viking and Penguin Books in exchange for an honest review.

Read Full Post »