Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for March 22nd, 2016

Stiger’s Tigers

By Marc Edelheit

Genre: Fantasy

The empire has endured many centuries but is now threatened by multiple wars and a major rebellion in the South.

A nobleman from an infamous family, a fighter and a right proper bastard of a man, Captain Ben Stiger finds himself reassigned from a crack legion to the rebellion simmering in the South. Placed in command of a truly terrible company, the 85th Imperial Foot, he is unknowingly sent on a suicide mission to resupply an isolated outpost, the garrison of Vrell, that has mysteriously stopped communicating with the empire.

On his journey to Vrell, Stiger must rebuild his new company and gain the respect of the men he leads if he hopes to come out of this mission alive. His allies fighting alongside of him include one of the few remaining elven rangers and a paladin on a quest for the High Father. Stiger and his company must fight bandits, rebels, and an agent of an evil god all in the quest to uncover the secrets of Vrell and maintain Vrell’s strategic military position in the rebellious South.
The battle to save the empire and the world begins here in the first book of this exciting new series!

Author Bio

Marc Alan Edelheit has a Bachelor’s Degree in Science and obtained a Masters in Education as a Reading and Writing Specialist. He is currently an executive in the healthcare industry staying up late at night to work on his novels. Marc has traveled the world, from Asia to Europe, even at one point crossing the border at Check Point Charlie in Berlin toward the end of the Cold War.

Marc is the ultimate history fan and incorporates much of that passion into his work to bring greater realism to his fans. He is also an avid reader, devouring several books a week, ranging from history to science fiction and fantasy. Marc currently resides in New Hope, Pennsylvania, just miles from where Washington crossed the Delaware. Check out Marc’s website, Facebook, Twitter, MAE Novels, and Amazon.

 

Read Full Post »

Twisted River

25810336

Twisted River by Siobhan MacDonald

(Excerpt from Goodreads) A gripping debut psychological thriller for fans of The Silent Wife and The Wicked Girls about two families in crisis and a holiday house swap gone terribly wrong

“She would never have fit as neatly into the trunk of his own car.” Limerick, Ireland: the O’Brien family’s driveway. American Oscar Harvey opens the trunk of his hosts’ car and finds the body of a woman, beaten and bloody. But let’s start at the beginning.

Kate and Mannix O’Brien live by Curragower Falls in Limerick, in a lovely house they can barely afford. Their autistic son Fergus is bullied at school, and their daughter Izzy blames herself, wishing she could protect him. Kate decides that her family needs a vacation, and is convinced her luck’s about to change when she spots a gorgeous Manhattan apartment on a home-exchange website.

Hazel and Oscar Harvey and their two children live on Manhattan’s Upper West Side. Though they seem successful and happy, Hazel has mysterious bruises, and Oscar is hiding things about his dental practice. They, too, need a change of pace. Hazel has always wanted her children to see her native Limerick, and the house swap offers a perfect chance to soothe two troubled marriages. But this will be anything but a perfect vacation. And the body in the trunk is just the beginning.

Book

My Review

4 stars

Kate and Mannix O’Brien live in Limerick, Ireland. Their family is under pressure with their autistic son being bullied and their daughter trying to help him and being mad at her parents for not doing anything. At the same time there is Hazel and Oscar Harvey in Manhattan. They need a vacation too so they list their house on a house swap website for a vacation. When Hazel see’s Kate’s house she is very excited since she wants to show her kids where she grew up. But like every family, although they may look happy and perfect on the outside the inside can be total different. Add in a little murder and the happy vacation will be short lived.

I liked this mystery, especially when you start the book about a woman not fitting into a trunk. This story does have the typical cheating husband, abusive spouse, and the spouse that won’t leave. Throw in a murder and you have a great story.

I admit that I didn’t really expect who the killer was, there were a couple clues that I thought I found but they were red herrings. My only complaint was that the ending fell a little flat for me. Beyond that I really liked this book. If you like good mysteries I think you should check out this book. As for me, I’m going to be keeping an eye out for other books by Siobhan MacDonald

To purchase Twisted River make sure to check out Amazon, Barnes and Noble, and Goodreads.

I received Twisted River for free from the publisher in exchange for an honest review.

Read Full Post »