Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for June 26th, 2016

28870872

Broken Mirror by Cody Sisco

(Excerpt from Goodreads) Someone killed Granfa Jefferson. Victor is sure of it. But he’s the only one.

Diagnosed with mirror resonance syndrome and shunned by Semiautonomous California society, Victor suffers from “blank outs,” hallucinations, and vivid nightmares. He violently overreacts to even minor confrontations. Victor’s grandfather devoted his life to researching and curing Broken Mirrors, but now that he’s gone, Victor must walk a narrow path between sanity and reclassification–a fate that all but guarantees he’ll lose his freedom.

Victor is determined to uncover the truth about his grandfather’s death and grows increasingly suspicious of the medicine he must take to help manage his “symptoms.” As he tries to sort his allies from his enemies, a conspiracy with global implications emerges. Can he trust his Aunt Circe, the only person in his family who’s even somewhat sympathetic to his plight? His former classmate-turned-brainhacker Ozie, who wields information as damaging as any weapon and who seems intent on luring Victor away from his home? What about his old friend Elena, who reappears in his life abruptly, claiming to have miraculously overcome a devastating addiction?

With its self-driving cars, global firearms ban, and a cure for cancer, the world of Broken Mirror may sound utopic, but history has taken a few wrong turns. The American Union is a weak and fractious alliance of nations in decline. Europe, a superpower, manipulates its citizens through technology. And Asia is reeling from decades of war. Amid shifting geopolitical sands, Broken Mirrors like Victor find themselves at a crossroads: evolve or go extinct.

Broken Mirror is the first novel in a sci-fi detective saga tailor-made for fans of Isaac Asimov, Haruki Murakami, and Neal Stephenson.

Book

My Review

5 stars

We begin in an alternate world from our own. The United States no long exists; it is now the American Union. Many things in history have not happened in this world but the basics are technology rules and those that have perception and mood issues are diagnosed with Mirror Resonance Syndrome. Victor is one of these people. His grandfather has been treating these people but has recently died. Now Victor has to figure out who he really is and how he fits into this corrupt world.

This is an amazing thrill ride from the start. The world as we know it is gone and now revolves around technology and political corruption. Victor is a Broken Mirror who doesn’t really seem all that broken when you compare him to everyone else. I couldn’t help feel for him has he tries to figure out who is really helping him and who is intent on hurting him.

I loved the world building. Some things are similar to our world but others are really different. But you learn about this as Victor does. It can be frustrating yet a great way to keep you on the edge of your seat.

This is a great thriller and one that I recommend that you check out. It is the first in a series and I can’t wait to find out what is going to happen next. From June 25 to July 2 you can get Broken Mirror for $.99 on Amazon Kindle.

To purchase Broken Mirror make sure to visit AmazonGoodreads, and Cody Sisco’s website.

Kory Kelly Consulting Logo

I received Broken Mirror for free from Kory Kelly Consulting in exchange for an honest review.

Advertisements

Read Full Post »