Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for May 12th, 2018

The Revenants are coming. 

Only recently woken from their centuries’ long slumber, the dragons are unprepared to face them. But when a legend is uncovered, revealing the existence of a lost tribe of mages, hope flickers to life. 

The race is on as Tyler Durand and Anwen Kaida rush to find this missing tribe while the others prepare for their last stand. But time and numbers are against them, and Anwen fears that even if they find the lost mages, it will be too late. 



 

 

 



Universal Amazon Link ~ 
B&N ~ Kobo ~

Smashwords ~

My Review

5 stars

The dragons have been awakened but it is going to take time to acclimate to this world. Time they do not have since the Revenants are on the way. But rumor has a lost tribe of mages that might be able to help them. While everyone prepares for the upcoming battle, Anwen and Tyler go on a quest to find the lost mages. It is coming down to the last second to see who is going to win.

I was on pins and needles reading this book. I hoped and prayed that they were going to win but everything was looking like it was not going to happen. You will meet new characters that will add beautifully to this world and give you more to care about while you worry if they will survive the battle.

There was a lot of preparation for the big battle before it actually happened. Of course you have the race against time for Anwen and Tyler to find the lost mages. But the best part was all the questions you have in the last two books will be answered in Dragon’s Bane.

I loved this series and was enthralled through the whole thing. I was so happy that I had all three books that I could binge read at one time. This is a beautiful world and an amazing story. It’s one I think those that like fantasy stories will enjoy.

I received a complimentary copy of this book. I voluntarily chose to read and post an honest review.

 

Karlie Lucas is a preschool teacher by day and a writer/artist by night.A graduate of Southern Utah University, Karlie received a B.A. in Creative Writing, with a minor in art. She is a member of Sigma Tau Delta, The International English Honor Society, as well as ANWA, the American Night Writers Association.

Karlie is interested in all things magical and mysterious, especially elves and dragons. She is an avid fan of J.R.R. Tolkien and J.K. Rowling.

When not writing, Karlie can often be found drawing, baking, watching her favorite old school shows, or just spending time with her family.

She currently resides in Dallas, Texas with her husband and a cat named Kally

Facebook ~ Website ~
Amazon ~ Goodreads ~ 

 

 29341627
 Key Keeper (Tarragon – 1)
For hundreds of years, the gates of Tarragon have been sealed from the outside. Prophecy speaks of the day the last Key Keeper will return and wake the dragons from their spell-cast slumber, returning them to their rightful home.

Seeking to fulfill her father’s dying wish, Anwen Porter travels to the Drakonii Mountains where she meets Tyler, a mysterious local with a secret. With his help, she learns more about her clouded past and her own abilities. But when Courtney, a lovesick mage, tries to insert herself into their plans, things begin to go horribly wrong.

With death threatening at every turn, Anwen must learn to rely on her newfound friends to survive. But how can she unravel the mystery of her heritage when everything is trying to kill her?

 

My Review

4 stars

Anwen Porter is on a quest to find her heritage and herself. Her father’s dying wishes were for her to return to the mountains that her family was exiled from many generations ago. When she gets to the Drakonii Mountains, she meets Tyler Durand and learns more about herself and her own abilities, the history of the mountains and her role with the prophecy. But this is not going to be easy with Courtney, a mage that has decided to insert herself into their plans.

This is a great start to a new series. I liked Anwen, she was a great kid, but I also felt sorry for her. Here she has this huge responsibility and her father things just having her go on a journey is going to give her all the information that she is going to need for her role as the Tarragon Key Keeper. Of course you have a jealous girl that just has to put herself in the middle of everything trying to get the attention of her crush and making life more difficult.

I love the story of the dragons. The how and why they were sealed in the mountain was just great. I was on the edge of my seat for Anwen to get to them. But I loved how things progressed and you learned as Anwen did.

I really liked this story. It’s a great start to the series although I have to say I was not impressed by the cliff hanger. I hate having to stop right in the middle of scene like it did. But I will say that it did make me get out the next book to find out what happened next.

This is a great story and one that I would recommend checking out. There is lots of action and a great story that will appeal to all ages.

I received a complimentary copy of this book. I voluntarily chose to read and post an honest review.

34788625
Dragon Mage (Tarrarong – 2)
After hundreds of years, the gates to Tarragon are open once more, fulfilling age-old prophecy. However, Anwen’s journey is far from over. The dragons still sleep and she has no clue how to wake them. Forced to retreat from the Mountain, she and her newfound friends must devise a new plan to wake the inhabitants of Tarragon. Meanwhile, the Mage Circle, a group of dragon mages with a vendetta, is camped outside the Gates. Calling on allies of their own, they will stop at nothing to gain control of the Dragon City and all who dwell inside. To complicate matters even more, Anwen’s mother has joined the party. But even with the help of all her friends, can Anwen overcome the ordeals set before her or will this spell the end of the dragons and the world as we know it?

My Review

5 stars

Anwen has opened the gates to Tarragon but that is only the first step. Now she needs to learn how to awaken the dragons. Anwen, Tyler, Courtney, and a few others go off to find the keys to waking the dragons. But those that can show them only have legends and stories. But it will be a race against time to awaken the dragons. The Mage Circle has gathered outside the Gates and are trying to get control of the Dragon City to control the dragons themselves.

I love how you jump into the story right where you left off in Key Keeper. Because of this I strongly recommend reading the books in order. As we start on this journey, Anwen’s mother and a couple others have joined this journey. We learn why Anwen was kept in the dark about her heritage and abilities but I think I would still have given her training so she had some preparation.

As the story goes along we learn more about the characters. I have to say that I am warming up to Courtney from the first book and am glad to see a little romance for Anwen with Tyler. But there is no time for doe eyes. Getting the dragons awakened and away from the Mage Circle is more important.

I loved how this book helped progress the story as opposed to usual second books in trilogies. The story is ramping up more and more and it is clearly getting to be a race against time. I can’t wait to read Dragon Bane.

I received a complimentary copy of this book. I voluntarily chose to read and post an honest review.

Enter for your chance to win a copy of Tarragon: Dragon Bane

 I would like to thank Loving the Book for the opportunity to read and share these wonderful books.
Advertisements

Read Full Post »

Stench

39900210

Stench by AB Morgan

Rory Norton didn’t always make his living as a motorbike instructor and he went to great lengths to leave his past life behind, to start again.

He thought he had succeeded, until the body of a missing woman is discovered under the floor of his cottage. Only then do the guilt and shame of his wife’s mysterious, untimely death and the accusations about his connection to the missing woman combine to break him.

The question is not how the missing woman died but why, and who is responsible?

Sometimes the truth stinks.

Amazon US    Amazon UK     Barnes and Noble    Goodreads

A.B. Morgan

Author’s Bio

Alison Morgan: former mental health nurse, married to hairy biker, fascinated by words, people, music and loves to make people smile and laugh. She once wrote a play in which none of the actors had a speaking part.

Her crime thrillers have a strong cast of characters helping to define the style and pace of each story inspired by her life and career as a Psychiatric Nurse, and her fascination with the extremes of human behaviour.

Her latest crime thriller Stench is being well received:

“A wonderful refreshing, clever read.” Nicki Murphy – Nicki’s Book Blog

“a thought-provoking novel, that will tap into many emotions” Alexina Golding – Bookstormer

“Impossible to put down!” Brittany Davis – NetGalley Reviewer

AB Morgan is the critically acclaimed author of A Justifiable Madness, The Camera Lies and Divine Poison. Stench is beautifully written mystery thriller which will appeal to fans of authors like Teresa Driscoll, S. E. Lynes and Barbara Copperthwaite.

Website     Facebook

 

My Review

5 stars

We start this story as Rory Norton has been hearing scratching and has a putrid smell coming from the floor. He figured it is his filthy neighbors and their rat problem has moved over to his house. But when the lift the floor boards, the body of his neighbor Ann Chamberlain is discovered. Of course he is immediately suspected of killing her.

Weeks previously we meet Anna Chamberlain. She lost her husband four years prior in Afghanistan. She clearly has issues because she still talks to him. Her behavior causes those around her to give her more grief than help she clearly needs. So Anna decides to learn how to ride a motorcycle. There she meets Rory and what follows is one heck of a ride for both of them.

This story started out with a bang and just kept going. I mean how can you not get dragged in when the first chapter is about a man discovering the body if his horrible neighbor dead under his floor boards? Rory is a decent guy and I felt for him in this story. He does have a past and you are kept on the edge of your seat wondering if he really did kill Anna.

Anna clearly has some issues mentally. I did feel sorry for her with the loss of her husband and how it seems those around her are not really there to help. But at the same time she becomes a crazy stalker and you it becomes hard to sympathize with her.

This is a fantastic psychological thriller that started out with a bang then slowly builds the story until you are wrapped tightly in its embrace. This is the second book I have read from this author. AB Morgan is an incredible author. Her books have a permanent place on my bookshelves.

I received a complimentary copy of this book. I voluntarily chose to read and post an honest review.

I would like to thank Bloodhound Books for the opportunity to read and share this book.

Read Full Post »