Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for May 30th, 2018

Dead Girls

35879424

Dead Girls by Graeme Cameron

I may not remember everything, but I know he won’t hurt anyone else.

I won’t let him.

It’s been two months since a serial killer brutally attacked police detective Alisha Green and left her for dead. Two months since she could effortlessly recall simple things, since her mind felt remotely sound. The nameless killer thinks he knows her, thinks she’s just another dead girl among many. Ali Green plans to show him he’s dead wrong about that.

Ali has two enemies now: the dangerous man she’s hunting and her own failing memory. As explosive new evidence comes to light and conflicting accounts from a witness and a surviving victim threaten both her investigation and her credibility, she begins to question what is and isn’t real. And now Ali has no choice but to remember the past…before it buries her.

Amazon     Barnes and Noble     Goodreads

Praise for Dead Girls

A hypnotically gripping thriller that proves internationally bestselling author Graeme Cameron is one of the most unique voices in contemporary fiction today.

“Chilling [and] blackly humorous…Normal marks Cameron out as one to watch.” —Daily Express, 4 stars

“Original and gripping.” —Clare Mackintosh, New York Times bestselling author, on Normal

Graeme Cameron

Author’s Bio

Graeme Cameron is the bestselling author of Normal and its sequel, Dead Girls. He was born, raised and remains in Norfolk, where he juggles writing with a career in the motorsport industry. He is assisted in procrastinating by four children and such high-octane pursuits as photography, boardgaming, toy restoration, crochet, and bingeing on Netflix.

Website

My Review

4 stars

Detective Alisha Green is on the hunter for a serial killer when she is abducted and beaten. She manages to escape and just knows that her kidnapper is the same person as the serial killer. The problem is she has memory issues since her attack. She is trying to keep it together and keep her little secret from her partner. But when new evidence comes to light, it makes Alisha question what she knows.

This book had a lot happening in it. There we so many points of view that I became as confused as Ali. Then you have Ali herself that is starting to have a hard time figuring out what is real and what is in her head. This made the books hard to get into.

I really liked Normal and wanted to like Dead Girls too. But I see that I’m not the only one with mixed opinions. I will still check out Graeme Cameron’s other books.

I received a complimentary copy of this book. I voluntarily chose to read and post an honest review.

I would like to thank Mira for the opportunity to read and share this book.

Advertisements

Read Full Post »

The Dark Angel

40092077

Dark Angel (James & Sandersen Files – 2) by PJ Nash

Looking for a fast-paced serial killer thriller full of twists and turns?

When a commuter discovers a mutilated corpse on the Prague Metro, Captain  Jiri Hofschnadir of the Criminal Police is called in to investigate.

Meanwhile, in Hong Kong, newly-weds ex British cop Lawrence James and forensic psychologist, Jessie Sandersen are on honeymoon after their frantic efforts to capture the Australian serial killer known as The Dingo.

But wherever James and Sandersen go, trouble is never far behind.

As the body count rises in Prague, Sandersen is called in to help track down the serial killer dubbed The Dark Angel.

In a game of cat and mouse, James and Sandersen will be pushed to their very limits.

Dark Angel is the second book in the James & Sandersen Files, but can also be read as a thrilling stand-alone. It’s a fast-paced, action-packed, crime thriller which will appeal to fans of authors such as Mark Edwards, Robert Bryrdnza and Michael Connelley.

Amazon     Barnes and Noble     Goodreads

Author’s Bio

P.J Nash was born in Nuneaton, Warwickshire, the birthplace of George Eliot and Shakespeare, respectively. Not surprisingly he decided he’d like to be a writer too.

After studying history and working in PR for a few years, he was running a second hand bookshop, when wanderlust and destiny in the form of his future wife took him to Prague.

During his time behind the counter in the shop and travelling on trams between English lessons he wrote his first crime novel, The Hunt for the Dingo featuring maverick British expat cop, Lawrence James and and his hunt for a serial killer in Australia. On his return to the UK, he drew on his Bohemian adventures to write his second crime novel featuring Lawrence James and his co-investigator, Dr Jessie Sandersen.  He currently lives on a narrowboat with his wife Clare and grumpy cat, Lulu.

In his past life P.J. Nash was a Special Constable for the Warkwickshire police.

Nash is also a member of the CWA and International Thriller Writers.

Facebook     Twitter

My Review

4 stars

In Prague, a woman dubbed the Dark Angel targets male British tourists. She has been wronged in the past and we follow along as she starts to get her grove killing these guys in a brutal way. Ex cop Lawrence James and Jessie Sandersen are on their honeymoon in Hong Kong but as the bodies start piling up in Prague, forensic psychologist Jessie Sandersen is called in to help stop the Dark Angel.

I really enjoyed reading The Hunt for the Dingo and couldn’t wait to get into Dark Angel. This is an action packed thrill ride with a vicious killer. You get to see inside her and you will come to kind of understand what motivates her. It’s kind of hard to hate the serial killer when you sympathize with her. Of course James and Sandersen are trouble magnates. I mean they are trying to enjoy their honeymoon when they are thrown into the case of the Dark Angel.

I loved the different locations but I have to say that Prague was my favorite. The Dark Angel is malicious and intent of stopping those she feels have wronged her. The short chapters keep you reading just one more before bed and you have the feeling that no one is safe. This is the second book in the series and although it could be read as a standalone I would recommend checking out The Hunt for the Dingo first so you have a better background.

I received a complimentary copy of this book. I voluntarily chose to read and post an honest review.

I would like to thank Bloodhound Books for the opportunity to read and share this book.

Read Full Post »