Archive for July 4th, 2018

A Demon in Silver


A Demon in Silver (War of Archons – 1) by RS Ford

In a world where magic has disappeared, rival nations vie for power in a continent devastated by war.

When a young farm girl, Livia, demonstrates magical powers for the first time in a century there are many across the land that will kill to obtain her power. The Duke of Gothelm’s tallymen, the blood-soaked Qeltine Brotherhood, and cynical mercenary Josten Cade: all are searching for Livia and the power she wields.

But Livia finds that guardians can come from the most unlikely places… and that the old gods are returning to a world they abandoned.

Amazon     Barnes and Noble     Goodreads


Author’s Bio

R.S. Ford originally hails from Leeds in the heartland of Yorkshire but now resides in the wild fens of Cambridgeshire. His previous works include the raucous steampunk adventure, Kultus, and the grimdark fantasy trilogy, Steelhaven.

Website     Twitter

My Review

4 stars

Many years prior the Archons left and took magic with them. People have survived without the gods and magic for about one hundred years. But now things are starting to happen. Livia is a young farm girl that is starting to show magical abilities. Once word gets out everyone is after her so they can use her magic to their own gains. But she is not the only player in this new world. Others have their own roles to play as the magic and the Archons return.

We follow along with four characters as they navigate this world and the changes happening. This world is beautifully crafted and had great characters that made you care for them and hope that they make it through this dark world. I loved following between the four narrators as they circled around and eventually came together.

This is a wonderful start to a new fantasy series. There is a ton of action and some gruesome parts that just amped everything up. I can’t wait to read the next book and recommend this for anyone that loves fantasy.

I received a complimentary copy of this book. I voluntarily chose to read and post an honest review.

I would like to thank Titan Books for the opportunity to read and share this book.

Read Full Post »


The Red Hand (Silas Quinn  – 4) of Fury by RN Morris

London, June 1914. A young man is mauled to death at London Zoo after deliberately climbing into the bear pit. Shortly afterwards, another young man leaps to his death from the notorious Suicide Bridge. Two seemingly unconnected deaths – and yet there are similarities.

Following a third attempted suicide, Detective Inspector Silas Quinn knows he must uncover the link between the three men if he is to discover what caused them to take their own lives. The one tangible piece of evidence is a card found in each of the victims’ possession, depicting a crudely-drawn red hand. What does it signify? To find the answers, Quinn must revisit his own dark past. But can he keep his sanity in the process …?

Amazon UK     Amazon US     Barnes and Noble     Goodreads

Author Bio

R. N. Morris is the author of eight historical crime novels. His first, A Gentle Axe, was published by Faber and Faber in 2007. Set in St Petersburg in the nineteenth century, it features Porfiry Petrovich, the investigating magistrate from Dostoevsky’s great novel, Crime and Punishment. The book was published in many countries, including Russia. He followed that up with A Vengeful Longing, which was shortlisted for the CWA Gold Dagger. A Razor Wrapped in Silk came next, followed by The Cleansing Flames, which was nominated for the Ellis Peters Historical Novel Dagger. The Silas Quinn series of novels, set in London in 1914, began with Summon Up The Blood, followed by The Mannequin HouseThe Dark Palace and now The Red Hand of Fury, published on 31 March, 2018.

Taking Comfort is a standalone contemporary novel, written as Roger Morris. He also wrote the libretto to the opera When The Flame Dies, composed by Ed Hughes.

Website     Facebook     Twitter

My Review

5 stars

Two men have committed suicide by stripping naked and either jumping into the polar bear enclosure or jumping off a bridge. Then there is a third man that doesn’t succeed in his attempt. As Inspector Quinn gets looking into them he notices they all are wearing the same clothes, ones that are very familiar to him. It seems all three men have come from the Colney Hatch Asylum. Quinn also has had personal dealing with the asylum and will be confronting his own past as he looks into the deaths and attempted death of these men.

We start the story in the Colney Hatch Asylum with dark treatment and cures for patients. That drew me in and had me wondering where the story was going from there. Inspector Quinn clearly has a past that is going to be affected by this investigation. I loved both the mystery of why these men have been killing themselves and what really happened to Quinn.

The Red Hand of Fury is the fourth book in the Silas Quinn series but I had no trouble following along without the other three books. I am curious about Quinn and will be checking out the other three in this series. This is my first book from author RN Morris and I have to say that I’m very curious about his other books.

This is a great, dark mystery. If that is your preferred reads I recommend checking out The Red Hand of Fury.

I received a complimentary copy of this book. I voluntarily chose to read and post an honest review.

I would like to thank Rachel’s Random Resources for the opportunity to read and share this book.


Enter to win a hardback copy of The Red Hand of Fury (Open Internationally)

a Rafflecopter giveaway


 *Terms and Conditions –Worldwide entries welcome.  Please enter using the Rafflecopter box below.  The winner will be selected at random via Rafflecopter from all valid entries and will be notified by Twitter and/or email. If no response is received within 7 days then I reserve the right to select an alternative winner. Open to all entrants aged 18 or over.  Any personal data given as part of the competition entry is used for this purpose only and will not be shared with third parties, with the exception of the winners’ information. This will passed to the giveaway organiser and used only for fulfilment of the prize, after which time I will delete the data.  I am not responsible for despatch or delivery of the prize.

Read Full Post »