Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for October 29th, 2018

Lullaby Road

Book Details:

Book Title: Lullaby Road by James Anderson

Category: Adult Fiction, 305 pages
Genre: Mystery/Thriller/Suspense
Publisher: Crown Publishing Group
Release date: October 16, 2018
Tour dates: Oct 22 to Nov 2, 2018

Content Rating: PG-13 + M (No explicit sex scenes or bad language)Book Description:

Winter has come to Route 117, a remote road through the high desert of Utah trafficked only by those looking to escape the world and those the world has rejected. Local truck driver Jones, still in mourning over the devastating murder of his lover Claire, is trying to get through another season of his job navigating treacherous roads and sudden snowfall without accident when a mute Hispanic child is placed in Jones’s path at a seedy truck stop along his route bearing a note that simply reads “Please, Ben. Bad trouble. My son. Take him today. His name is Juan. Trust you only. Tell no one. Pedro.” From that moment forward, nothing will ever be the same. Not for Ben. Not for the child. And not for anyone along the seemingly empty stretch of road known as Route 117.

Despite deep misgivings, and without any hint of who the child is or the grave danger he’s facing, Jones takes the child with him and sets out into a landscape that is as dangerous as it is beautiful and silent. With the help of his eccentric neighbors—Phyllis, who turned up one day in her Rolls-Royce with two children in tow and the FBI on her tail; Andy, a Utah State Trooper who is on or off duty depending on if his hat is on or off his head; and Roy, an ex–coal miner who has lived in Rockmuse, off Highway 117, his whole life and survives on odd jobs and the kindness of his neighbors—Jones uncovers buried secrets of the desert that are far more painful than he could have imagined.

In LULLABY ROAD, readers will find themselves enthralled by Anderson’s vivid sense of place and his beautiful and heartbreaking narrative.

Praise for Lullaby Road:

Atmospheric…Arresting desert vistas and distinctive characters leave a lasting impression.”
– Publishers Weekly

Anderson’s lyrical prose brings a forgotten corner of the world to life, and the authentic narrative does the same for Jones. Recommended for fans of William Kent Krueger’s Cork O’Connor and Craig Johnson’s Walt Longmire.”
– BookList

…a delicious cast of colorful characters…Lullaby Road is a triumphant mix of landscape, character, wit and sagacity wrapped in a noir thriller.
– Shelf Awareness

The action is nonstop, and the plot twists are heart-pounding. Anderson’s vivid prose gives a sense of vastness that is the desert he so brilliantly describes – it is an amazing use of language to create a mood and feeling…Fans of Anderson’s first installment of this series will devour this book and long for another visit with the residents along Route 117.
– Library Journal Starred Review

To read more reviews, please visit James Anderson’s page on iRead Book Tours.

 

Buy the Book:
 
Watch the trailer:

 

Meet the Author:

 

 

JAMES ANDERSON was born in Seattle, Washington, and grew up in the Pacific Northwest. He is a graduate of Reed College and received his MFA in creative writing from Pine Manor College. His first novel was The Never-Open Desert Diner. His short fiction, poetry, essays, and reviews have appeared in many magazines, including The Bloomsbury Review, New Letters, Solstice, Northwest Review, Southern Humanities Review, and others. He currently divides his time between Colorado and Oregon.

Connect with the author: Website ~ Twitter ~ Facebook

My Review

4 Stars

Ben Jones is back and on his normal truck route when he stops for some diesel and is told that there is something left for him. He discovers the truck stops tire man has left his child and a very protective dog for him. It seems something bad is happening to Pedro and he only trusts Ben. There is no time to really think about this so Ben takes them on his route. But there seems to be something off on his route. The people seem different toward him and it seems danger is going to come knocking soon.

Lullaby Road is the sequel to The Never-Open Desert Diner. I do recommend reading that before getting into Lullaby Road, there is a lot referenced that will make more sense if you do. Ben is one of several residents on Highway 117 that have moved to the desert to get away. They all have their perks and quirks but they have made 117 their home.

Ben is thrown off by having Pedro’s daughter. When he gets her he tries to find out more about what is going on but no one will talk to him. Then his 17 year old neighbor dumps her infant on him so she can go to school. Ben being Ben decides to pile everyone in his truck and heads into a snow storm for deliveries. But he is going to quickly find himself in the middle of some serious trouble.

This is a good story and a great sequel to The Never-Open Desert Diner. There is a great, diverse group of characters and a good thriller. I hope that there will be another sequel.

I received a complimentary copy of this book. I voluntarily chose to read and post an honest review.

Enter the Giveaway for your chance to win a print copy of Lullaby Road by James Anderson
(open to USA only / 10 winners)
Ends Nov 10, 2018

a Rafflecopter giveaway https://widget-prime.rafflecopter.com/launch.js

I would like to thank iRead Book Tours for the opportunity to read and share this book.

Advertisements

Read Full Post »