Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for December 13th, 2018

Darcy the Dog Who Talked

Book Details:

Book Title: Darcy The Dog Who Talked by Liane Carter
Category: Adult Non-fiction, 152 pages
Genre: Pets / Memoir (told from dog’s perspective)
Publisher: Independently published
Release date: June 18, 2018
Tour dates: Nov 26 to Dec 21, 2018
Content Rating: PG (mild language – such as hell, bloody, damn)

Book Description:

I’d never adopted a dog before. I had no idea what to do and this dog needed someone who did. An abused dog and a clueless human, we embarked on a journey of love, struggles and joy.

“Every abandoned Darcy dog needs a Liane.”
– Teresa Roberts, Veterinary Nurse, Hertfordshire, England

To read more reviews, please visit Liane Carter’s page on iRead Book Tours.
Meet the Author:

Devoted to giving her readers smiles, tears and tension in both her poignant non-fiction and fast-paced fantasy adventures, Liane Carter bares her soul. Author of The Chronicles of Joya, The Dream Devils, Darcy: The Dog Who Talked and Tammy: The Little Cat With A Big Attitude, she has written features and a weekly column for Costa Blanca News, articles for Writing Magazine, and has taught over 150 writing workshops. She pours her innate joy into her books and also expresses it in nature, playing instruments, creating art and dancing.

Connect with Liane: Website ~ Twitter ~ Facebook ~ Pinterest


My Review

5 stars

Darcy, first called Blackie, had a poor past after having puppies and been abused by her previous owner. She was turned in to the shelter after escaping one too many times. Liane volunteered at the shelter and just knew that she needed to adopt her. Liane had never had a dog and didn’t really know what to expect but she also adopted an abused dog that has several issues that needs to be worked out. But with lots of patience and love Darcy comes around and becomes a very loving dog with a couple quirks.

After reading Tammy The Little Cat With a Big Attitude I just knew that I was going to love this book before I even opened it. Darcy had such a rough life before being rescued by Liane. Having been in Liane’s position I just knew that this was not going to be an easy journey for her but I also know it would be worth the extra work.

I loved following along with the different antics that Darcy got into. I really enjoyed watching her come out of her shell with the love of Liane and Lee. Of course the ending had me choked up but I expect nothing less.

This is a wonderful story that will appeal to all ages and anyone that loves animals. It’s one I recommend checking out.

I received a complimentary copy of this book. I voluntarily chose to read and post an honest review.

Enter the Giveaway!
Ends Dec 29, 2018
Enter for your chance to win (1)st prize: An 11 x 14 inch print of Tammy: The Little Cat With A Big Attitude book cover signed by the author and the illustrator
An 11 x 14 inch print of Darcy: The Dog Who Talked book cover signed by the author and the illustrator
A signed paperback of Tammy: The Little Cat With A Big Attitude
A signed paperback of Darcy: The Dog Who Talked, and a $10 Amazon GC
(open internationally to wherever Amazon delivers)

Rafflecopter giveaway https://widget-prime.rafflecopter.com/launch.js

I would like to thank iRead Book Tours for the opportunity to read and share this book.

Advertisements

Read Full Post »

Dig Two Graves

Dig Two Graves (Detective Solomon Gray – 1) by Keith Nixon

Was it suicide … or murder? Detective Sergeant Solomon Gray is driven to discover the truth. Whatever the personal cost.

When teenager Nick Buckingham tumbles from the fifth floor of an apartment block, Detective Sergeant Solomon Gray answers the call with a sick feeling in his stomach. The victim was just a kid, sixteen years old. And the exact age the detective’s son was, the son Gray has not seen since he went missing at a funfair ten years ago. Each case involving children haunts Gray with the reminder that his son may still be out there – or worse, dead. The seemingly open and shut case of suicide twists into a darker discovery. Buckingham and Gray have never met, so why is Gray’s number on the dead teenager’s mobile phone?

Gray begins to unravel a murky world of abuse, lies, and corruption. And when the body of Reverend David Hill is found shot to death in the vestry of Gray’s old church, Gray wonders how far the depravity stretches and who might be next. Nothing seems connected, and yet there is one common thread: Detective Sergeant Solomon Gray, himself. As the bodies pile up, Gray must face his own demons and his son’s abduction.

Crippled by loss Gray takes the first step on the long road of redemption. But is the killer closer to home than he realised?

Set in the once grand town of Margate in the south of England, the now broken and depressed seaside resort becomes its own character in this dark police suspense thriller, perfect for fans of Ian Rankin, Stuart MacBride, and Peter James.

Dig Two Graves is the first in the Solomon Gray series. Pick it up now to discover whether Gray finds his son in this thrilling new crime series.

Amazon US     Amazon UK     BN     Goodreads

42432276

Burn the Evidence (Book 2)

Mixing business with family can be a murderous affair …

A body washes up on the beach near Ramsgate in the South of England. For Detective Sergeant Solomon Gray, the case appears cut and dried – the drowning of an immigrant. Another victim to the sea in his desperate attempt to reach the UK.

As the tidewaters recede, two more corpses surface. One appears to also be a refugee, but he’s been stabbed to death. The other, Gray recognises immediately and Gray knows this means trouble. Because the corpse is the son of local business tycoon Jake Armitage, a man with a dark reputation and an ex-school friend of Gray’s.

A post mortem reveals ligature marks on the son’s wrists and drugs in his bloodstream. All signs indicate murder. Armitage swears to track down his son’s killer and avenge his death.

Gray’s investigation points to a deadly fire ten years prior, and soon Armitage comes under suspicion. But Gray knows what it’s like to lose a child and puts aside his distrust of Armitage to help. How are the dead men connected to each other – and to the infamous fire?

It’s then that Gray gets another tip. On the whereabouts of his own missing son …

Set in the once grand town of Margate in the south of England, the now broken and depressed seaside resort becomes its own character in this dark detective thriller, perfect for fans of Ian Rankin, Stuart MacBride, and Peter James.

Burn the Evidence is the second book in the series featuring Detective Sergeant Solomon Gray. Pick it up now to discover whether Gray can escape his past in this taut crime series.

Amazon US     Amazon UK     BN     Goodreads

42550143

Beg for Mercy (Book 3)

Two men fight to prove their innocence. A cop and a convicted murderer. One of them is lying.

Fifteen years ago, local crime boss Duncan Usher was sent to prison for killing his wife. A young Detective Solomon Gray was first at the scene and instrumental in putting Usher away. But now Usher is out, released on a technicality.

Usher has held a grudge all this time, and he won’t stop until he gets revenge on the dirty cop who framed him all those years ago. Usher wants Gray’s help, acting as an inside man within the police. Gray refuses, but Usher has leverage – information on Gray’s missing son.

Gray agrees to work with Usher because he’ll do anything to find his son. But Gray is taking a huge risk; playing both sides of the game and carrying out his own investigation into what really happened fifteen years ago.

Can Gray get to the truth? Or will the past bring Gray down?

Set in the once grand town of Margate in the south of England, the now broken and depressed seaside resort becomes its own character in this dark detective thriller, perfect for fans of Ian Rankin, Stuart MacBride, and Peter James.

Beg For Mercy is the third book in the series featuring Detective Sergeant Solomon Gray. Buy it now to discover whether Gray can track down the real killer and escape Usher’s clutches in this tense crime series.

Amazon US     Amazon UK     BN     Goodreads

About the Author

Keith Nixon is a British born writer of crime and historical fiction novels. Originally, he trained as a chemist, but Keith is now in a senior sales role for a high-tech business. Keith currently lives with his family in the North West of England.

Website     Twitter    Facebook    Blog

My Review

5 Stars

When Nick Buckingham falls from the fifth floor of an apartment Detective Solomon, Sol Gray is called in and he learns that Nick, who Sol has never met, has Sol’s number in his phone. Then Sol learns that his priest has been found killed in this church. Then a woman that he knew is found dead too. The only link to all three murders is Sol.

This is just the beginning. We also learn that ten years ago Sol’s son Tom was abducted and they have not hear from him or found his body. This lead to his wife committing suicide and his daughter alienating herself from him. He seems to be a hard man that won’t listen to anyone and is generally a cantankerous old jerk. But knowing everything else you can’t help but feel for him.

I originally thought that this book was going to be a basic detective story but there was so much more to the story. It tells the story of a broken man. I really enjoyed the read and an curious to see what happens to Sol in the next book.

I received a complimentary copy of this book. I voluntarily chose to read and post an honest review.

I would like to thank BOTBS Publicity for the opportunity to read and share this book.

Read Full Post »