Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for February 18th, 2019

Chronicles of a Hero

Prelude to a Hero
Chronicles of a Hero Book 1
by Jaime Buckley
Genre: YA Fantasy
Nerd. Introvert. He was the hero they never knew they wanted.
All Wendell hoped for was a decent job,
a hot new car and a girlfriend to match.
What he got was the mantle of a legendary hero, the heart of a girl who
had no idea who he really was…and a diamond bigger than his fist.
What could possibly go wrong?
Prelude to a Hero is book one in the Chronicles of a Hero series, by Jaime
Buckley. If you enjoyed Tiffany Aching, Harry Potter or Hitchhikers
Guide to the Galaxy, then you’ll love this humorous, original epic
fantasy, packed with magic, mystery and sharp kicks to the funny bone.
“I’m already a HUGE fan of fantasy fiction, this book appealed to me as I
felt it would be something new and unique… I wasn’t left
disappointed!”
**only 99 cents**
My Review
5 Stars

As Wendell, basically a no body, is planning how to get himself a girlfriend, he is kidnapped by a little green, smelly, foul mouthed creature, Dax. He wakes up at the feet of a blue man that proceeds to tell him how he is the last of a bloodline and that he is there to collect his treasure. What he doesn’t learn is that the treasure comes with a great cost.

Wendell is now a Hero to protect Iskari from Dark Lord Mahan. He doesn’t really want the job and is told that in a month he can return the power to the High Elders. When he befriends a local person, his attitude starts to change about wanting nothing more than to go home.

Unfortunately, things go from bad to worse when Wendell learns that Dax grabbed the wrong person. That he is now an immortal Hero that is not going to survive the use of his abilities to stop Dark Lord Mahan and he cannot just simply give the power back. Now the High Elders are back to square one.

I really liked this story. It’s short, about 110 pages, but I could not get enough. The story flowed well, I got sucked right into it, and I really liked how Wendell progressed. My only complaint is that the story was too short. It looks like the other stories in the series are graphic novels. I will definitely be getting those to read. This is a great science fiction story about a reluctant hero.

I didn’t realize that I had reviewed the first book way back in 2011. You can find my original post here.
Race to Til-Thorin
Chronicles of a Hero Book 2
Dream girls. Fried snails. A 30” bodyguard with pink ponytails.
Being a hero comes with learning curves.
The curve of a hip. The curve of a sword.
The curve of a sucker punch as it connects with your face.
It wouldn’t be so bad if Wendell had professionals to help him.
Instead, he’s stuck with a feisty gnome, a senile old wizard and a green
skinned, cigar-smoking babysitter to guide him.
Is it too late to quit?
Fans of epic fantasy will cheer Wendell on as the Chronicles of a Hero
series continues in book two. Those who enjoy the world building
skills of J.R.R. Tolkien, J.K. Rowling and Brandon Sanderson will
surely get addicted to this original new world.
Feed your fantasy needs and grab your copy today!
“I have not laughed so hard in a long time. I don’t KNOW how long it’s
been. Just when the tension is about to make my heart pop, Chuck or
Dax or a situation will pop up and make you laugh.”
My Review
5 stars

Poor Wendell, he knows that he is the wrong person that his brother Evan is the one that was supposed to be the hero. But he is here and he is going to have to learn fast what is going on and what he can do. It doesn’t help that his “teachers” are more rejects than him.  But he has his instructions, keep the seals on Mahan which keep him banished to Unrest. Let’s just hope that he can survive that long.

I absolutely loved Prelude to a Hero and couldn’t wait to see what trouble Wendell would get himself into next. I was not disappointed. Wendell doubts himself and just “knows” that he is going to fail. But no matter what he gets himself into he still makes it out, maybe not in the expected way. Of course his bumbling teacher and babysitter are no better than him but find their own place in this epic quest.

This is a great series and one that I recommend checking out. You will feel bad for Wendell, cheer him on, and laugh so hard your sides hurt. Wendell may be an unlikely hero but he sure does a great job in his own way.

I received a complimentary copy of this book. I voluntarily chose to read and post an honest review.

Into the Fire
Chronicles of a Hero Book 3

Stranded, alone…with a tree sticking out of his bellybutton.

Wendell’s task is simple: get to Til-Thorin Keep.

No problem.

Add to that no map, no help and no flippin’ idea where he is and you have a day in the life of our hero.

Oh wait—we forgot to add the army of cannibals now nipping at his heels.

It just might be the death of him.

Elemental magic and nail-biting action are what you can expect in book three of Chronicles of a Hero. Fans of Dragonlance and The Hobbit will love this new addition to the series.

Don’t wait to grab your copy—buy one today!

“I think this book will be well-liked by those who like Harry Potter, but I think it goes to a new level where those who didn’t like Harry Potter can still love this book!”

Trench Wars
Chronicles of a Hero Book 4
Wizards. Elves. Giant Robots with Automatic Weapons.

Wendell is dying for a change of scenery, but Clockworks City has a ban on all outsiders.

It’s a law punishable by death.

So how does a 5’ 10” human hide among 1.5 BILLION gnomes?

By competing in the #1 televised extreme sport in the country, of course.

Enjoy bullets, babes and a bowl of mushroom soup as this series jumps from humorous fantasy to comical science fiction! If you enjoy a good laugh, intense action and unexpected endings, you’ll love book four in the Chronicles of a Hero series.

Grab your copy and keep the epic buzz going!

“(got yelled at by mom to put my Nook away all week….*sigh*) It was that good.”

Goodreads * Amazon

Second Chances

Chronicles of a Hero Book 5

Fame. Fortune. Thrown into the City incinerator.

Wendell’s chance at the title was always a long shot.
Since then he’s been on TV, Radio and even has the attention of The Church.
Fact is, he’s more popular than ever.
So why are people trying to kill him?
(It’s the cheesy goatee, isn’t it.)

Second Chances is book 5 in Jaime Buckley’s Chronicles of a Hero series. Laugh, cheer and bite your nails as this epic fantasy takes you on a crazy ride, twisting down ramps and out a back window!

Pick up a copy today!

“You know you have found a great book when you want to slap the author and give the author a hug at the same time, when you take some of the plot turns personally.”

Goodreads * Amazon

The Truth About Lies

Chronicles of a Hero Book 6

Caught. Tortured. Scheduled for execution. Any Questions?.

Wendell and Dax are exposed and the gnomes of Clockwork City are freaking out.

Are they spies? Is this an invasion? Was this all just a terror tactic to get gnomes to pay their taxes?

Now with Wendell under arrest and Dax under armed guard, it’s going to take a pardon from President Shrub to set them free.

Good thing Chuck’s planning to kidnap his kids.

The Truth About Lies is book six in the Chronicles of a Hero series by Jaime Buckley. The series that makes you laugh, squirm, grit your teeth and has you begging for more.

Make sure to grab yourself a copy!

“I loved this book because it takes a misfit who was never really liked or appreciated and it shows the beginning of the process of him unlocking his potential and becoming something greater than anyone would have imagined for such a small, insignificant person.”

Goodreads * Amazon

The Price of Fame

Chronicles of a Hero Book 7
Honest Politicians. Humane Terrorists. Religious Devils.Then it gets confusing…

Wendell’s learned that gnomes are just as irritating and dangerous as humans…they just come in smaller packaging.

Citizens are rebelling, the government’s collapsing, the Church is selling off the poor and Dax’s head on the chopping block.

All Chuck needs to get everyone home is a city wide diversion, a flying S.L.A.G., four lawyers, a hand grenade…and a tiny bit of string.

It feels good when a plan comes together!

The Price of Fame is book seven in the Chronicles of a Hero series by author Jaime Buckley. If you love a good laugh and incredible plot twists to keep you guessing, this book will curl your toes and put a smirk on your face!

“…packed with wild imaginations and inspirations. It’s a rarity that a YA book contains the combination of those three things but Wanted: Hero has them. Seriously, you don’t want to miss reading this book in your lifetime.”

Goodreads * Amazon

**Special Tour Promo!!**
Get all 8 books + 2 Wallpapers for only $9.99!!

Jaime Buckley married young, winning the heart of a beautiful Samoan princess

and together, they had 12 amazing children.

One of the original ‘lost boys’ of Peter Pan, Jaime never truly grew up.
Though he is respected as a traditional father figure, he still enjoys late night
conversations with Santa Clause, flirting with the Tooth Fairy and
has an occasional beer with Bigfoot. Wizards and warriors seek
his counsel while monsters tremble at the mention of his name.
An accomplished writer and illustrator of all things fictional, Jaime has a passion
to entertain and uplift. He loves God, his country, his family and
continues to expand his influence and friendships by stepping
onto the Twitch platform as a Creative streamer. Jaime can always be
found through Wanted Hero, his greatest project, and passion.
Follow the tour HERE
for exclusive excerpts, guest posts and a giveaway!
Three amazing prizes!!!

#1)A one-of-a-kind full color HD character sketch from the books–of ANY character the winner wants, created in a live stream session and autographed to the winner by name. (a $300 value)

#2) a PDF copy of the first 5 unedited chapters of Chronicles of a Hero, Book 8: Howling Shadows (scheduled to be released fall 2019)

#3) A digital copy of ‘An Unsolvable Problem’ (any format)–the Origin Story of Dax, one of the main characters of the Chronicles of a Hero story (not available for sale).

I would like to thank Silver Dagger Book Tours for the opportunity to read and share these books.
Advertisements

Read Full Post »