Archive for August 13th, 2019


45484751. sy475

Chameleon (DCI Jack Mason – 4) by Michael Foster

It was meant to be a harmless adventure…or so he thought.

When a ten-year-old boy playing hooky from school sees a young woman’s body hanging from a tree, a man at the scene gives chase.

Still recovering from near fatal injuries, Jack Mason is sent to investigate. He knows the boy’s life is in danger, but that’s the least of his worries. There’s a much darker side to this investigation, and one that threatens to change many people’s lives.

What really happened in the woods that day? What dark secrets was the dead woman hiding?

And who, or what, is Chameleon?

You will be hooked from the start by this gripping crime thriller. There’s tension, suspense, and a plot full of unexpected twists and turns. Order your copy today.

Don’t miss out on the rest of the series:

The Wharf Butcher (Book 1)

Satan’s Beckoning (Book 2)

The Suitcase Man (Book 3)

Chameleon (Book 4)

Amazon US     Amazon UK     Goodreads

About the Author

Michael K Foster has been writing crime thriller novels since 2006, all of them based in and around the North East of England. His bestselling debut novel, ‘The Wharf Butcher,’ was released in 2015 and offers a unique insight into this rugged landscape. He has now written four full-length novels featuring the hard-hitting DCI Jack Mason and local criminal profiler David Carlisle. His latest book in the series, ‘Chameleon,’ is scheduled for release in June 2019.

Michael was born in Plymouth, England. After ten years’ service in the British Army, he moved to Newcastle where he gained a master’s degree. A former Magistrate, he now writes full time and lives with his family in County Durham.

Website     Facebook     Goodreads Author Page

My Review

5 Stars

Ten year old Martin skips school to explore the woods but what he finds is going to put him in the cross hairs of some seriously bad people. DCI Jack Mason has not officially been released to come back to work but is called in to a woman hanging in the forest. This is just the first step for Mason and Martin when it comes to the Russian Mafia and everything they are involved in.

This book is an edge of your seat, nail biting ride. Jack Mason is one tough character that is determined to both keep Martin safe and to stop the killer. He has his hands full with money laundering and a hitman. The more he discovers the more trouble he finds.

This is the first book that I have read from Michael Foster but it won’t be my last. I was instantly sucked into the story and couldn’t put the book down. Although this is the fourth book in the series I had no problem figuring out what was going on but also didn’t know what really happened in the previous book for his injury. I feel confident that I can read that book without any spoilers.

This is a amazing read and one that I recommend for anyone that enjoys a fast paced and engrossing thriller. You will be sure to add this one to your library.

I received a complimentary copy of this book. I voluntarily chose to read and post an honest review.


I would like to thank Book on the Bright Side for the opportunity to read and share this book.

Read Full Post »