Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Join Us for this Tour from Oct 30 to Nov 20, 2020!

Book Details:
Book Title Braidy Von Althuis and the Final Fight (Book 5) by Cassidy Dwelis
Book Series: Braidy Von Althuis
Category Middle-Grade Fiction (Ages 8-12), 252 pages
Genre Paranormal
Publisher Precursor Publishing
Release dates:   October 2020
Content Rating: PG:
Some mild profanity and some mild magical violence

Book Description:
“Your husband willingly signed over his life to Azra. Boris owes Azra his life and services. There’s nothing more to it than that.” Braidy von Althuis is going to get his father back, no matter the consequences. Mr. von Althuis has been abducted by Azra, Queen of Djinn, and the family is in shambles. Half of the von Althuises no longer have their magick, and an army of djinn awaits them at Azra’s gates. Somehow, despite all of the odds, Mrs. von Althuis, Uncle Rolo, Aunt
Liz, Blockhead, and Braidy have to band together to retrieve Braidy’s father from the clutches of certain doom.Even though they hate each other, Braidy is determined to pull the fae and djinn together to fight against Azra’s tyranny. He will have to work with old friends, and old enemies, to finally end the war between djinn and fae that has come to a nasty head. Will Braidy be able to unite an army at his back and save his father, or will Mr. von Althuis belong to Azra forever? Braidy von Althuis and the Final Fight is a story about working past differences, justice, and morality. This book is suitable for children aged 8 – 11.

Buy the Book:
Amazon     Barnes and Noble

My Review

5 Stars

Mr. von Althuis is has bound himself to the Djinn queen Azra, Gran is gone, and Aunt Liz is no longer a fairy. What are three humans, a ghost, and Blockhead going to do? They are going to come together and do whatever it takes to save Mr. von Althuis.

Braidy and his mother will brave the Fairyland to bring back the one person that has enough power to fight Azra. But don’t discount anyone else, Blockhead finally embraces magic to help fight too.

Braidy and his family have come so far since I read about the Pesky Pest Controller. Things look dire and I didn’t know if they would be able to save Mr. von Althuis and everyone else. But Braidy and his mother are stronger than the fairy’s and jinn think. Braidy is especially clever even though he is only ten years old.

I love how this mixed family loves each other although they are so different. And in the end Braidy finds the perfect solution to solve all the fighting. I loved it!!

This is a wonderful series but I do recommend reading it in order. I just had the first book and this one and was very lost; it would have been easier to understand with the middle three books. Mind you that just means that I will be getting them shortly to find out what I missed.

I received a complimentary copy of this book. I voluntarily chose to read and post an honest review.

You Should Also Check Out These Earlier Books:

 

Book Details:

Book Title Braidy Von Althuis and the Pesky Pest Controller (Book 1) by Cassidy Dwelis
Book Series: Braidy Von Althuis
Category Middle-Grade Fiction (Ages 8-12), 320 pages
Genre Paranormal
Publisher Precursor Publishing
Release dates:   May 2017
Content Rating: PG:
Some mild profanity and some mild magical violence

Book Description:
Ten-year-old Braidy von Althuis just wants one thing: to fit in. The other kids at school think he’s weird, and for good reason. Despite his oddities, Braidy wants more than anything for his dad to be able to come to Township Day, a fun-filled event at school, but Mr. von Althuis refuses. “It’s too dangerous,” he says.Things change for Braidy when Mr. von Althuis gets sick, and, even worse, this pesky pest controller won’t leave Braidy alone! Will Braidy be able to get his family to Township Day without his world falling apart?Braidy von Althuis and the Pesky Pest Controller is a tale of friendship, family, magic, and mayhem that takes a look at what it means to be bullied and how to rise above it. This book is suitable for children aged 8 – 11.

Buy the Book:
Amazon     Barnes and Noble
Add to Goodreads

 

Book Details:

Book Title Braidy Von Althuis and the Gullible Ghost Hunter (Book 2) by Cassidy Dwelis

Book Series: Braidy Von Althuis

Category Middle-Grade Fiction (Ages 8-12), 241 pages

Genre Paranormal

Publisher Precursor Publishing

Release dates:   March 2018

Content Rating: PG:
Some mild profanity and some mild magical violence 

Book Description:

“Braidy felt a churning cauldron of fear stirring in his stomach. Uncle Rolo had the habit of destroying good things.”Ten-year-old Braidy von Althuis finally has what he needs: a good friend, Saturday-Morning cartoons, and a loving family. While life has been perfect since Braidy defeated the warlock that attempted to kidnap his father, Braidy knows the quiet will not last. Strangeness creeps through Maple Hills, especially since a ghost hunter moved into town.This ghost hunter has Braidy’s dead Uncle Rolo worried sick, but Braidy’s family thinks the newcomer in town is harmless. Braidy feels otherwise, and to make matters worse, a friend from Uncle Rolo’s past comes to call. Will Uncle Rolo follow the rules and stay safe, or will Braidy watch his uncle tear their family apart? Braidy von Althuis and the Gullible Ghost Hunter is a story about telling the truth, taking responsibility, and what it means to be a family.This book is suitable for children aged 8 – 11.

 Buy the Book:
Amazon     Barnes and Noble
Add to Goodreads

Book Details:

Book Title Braidy Von Althuis and the Dastardly Djinn (Book 3) by Cassidy Dwelis
Book Series: Braidy Von Althuis
Category Middle-Grade Fiction (Ages 8-12), 210 pages
Genre Paranormal
Publisher Precursor Publishing
Release dates:   October 2018
Content Rating: PG:
Some mild profanity and some mild magical violence
 

Book Description:

“He should have known this would happen. Wishes in movies and books seemed to go bad, so why would this one be any different?” Ten-year-old Braidy von Althuis misses his family dearly. Ever since his father, his aunt, and his uncle went to look for Gran in Europe, the house has been quiet and lonely. Even worse, Braidy’s cousin Blockhead is miserable after a breakup. Braidy wishes more than anything that he could do something to make his cousin happy.His wish is granted by a mysterious djinni, but the wish does not solve all his problems. Something is wrong with Blockhead, and Braidy learns a dark secret about his family that changes everything he knew. Will Braidy and Blockhead be able to undo the djinni wish, or will Braidy spark a war that may change the world as he knows it?Braidy von Althuis and the Dastardly Djinn is a story about identity, self-worth, consent, and responsibility. This book is suitable for children aged 8 – 11.

 Buy the Book:
Amazon     Barnes and Noble
Add to Goodreads

Book Details:

Book Title Braidy Von Althuis and the Changeling Children (Book 4) by Cassidy Dwelis
Book Series: Braidy Von Althuis
Category Middle-Grade Fiction (Ages 8-12), 249 pages
Genre Paranormal
Publisher Precursor Publishing
Release dates:   October 2019
Content Rating: PG:
Some mild profanity and some mild magical violence

Book Description:

” All of the regret that she buried in her garden in America will grow up like weeds and swallow her like quicksand.” Braidy von Althuis is celebrating his eleventh birthday, but not with his best friend. Mr. von Althuis has decided to move the family out of Maple Hills, and Braidy is forced to say goodbye to Kara and to eat his cake alone. Even though the von Althuises have lived in Maple Hills for hundreds of years, something has spooked the adults so badly that they feel helpless without Gran. Something is coming for them, though Braidy knows not who or what.When the family arrives in Ukraine, a whole slew of new problems arise. Mr. von Althuis gets a job, Uncle Rolo finds himself in more trouble, and Aunt Liz and Braidy are summoned to an audience with the Fairy King. In order to go home, Braidy and Aunt Liz must solve riddles or belong to the Fairy King forever. Will Braidy and Aunt Liz be able to escape the Fairy King’s clutches or will heartache and memories of a life long gone tear Aunt Liz and Braidy apart? This book is suitable for children aged 8 – 11.

Buy the Book:
Amazon
Add to Goodreads

 

Meet the Author:
I’m Cassidy, and I love storytelling! I’m incredibly passionate about writing, art, and anything that allows me to create my own worlds. My goal is to write dreamy fiction for all ages that is unique, inspiring, and imaginative. I want my books to instill wonderment in the reader. I like to write about themes that include coming of age, magic realism, identity, relationships, and bullying. My books are intended for readers ages eight to twenty-five, and are meant to connect the world of the fantastical to everyday life. I currently live in Colorado and just got my MA in Publishing!Connect with the author:  website ~ twitter ~ facebook ~ instagram ~ goodreads

Guest Post

One of the most wonderful things about the human existence is that we each live a unique truth that is indescribable to anyone else. It is the sonder of day to day life, knowing that each random passerby is living a life as vivid and complex as your own. In other words, everyone has a story.

The Telling of Truth is a Writer’s Highest Honor

Truth is the heart of stories. Without truth, a story has no backbone. Every legend, every fairytale, every myth is meant to impart some lesson. Stories were invented by man to pass down to others in an attempt to make other humans’ lives easier, and it is one of my favorite parts about being a writer. There are many of us who have had shared experiences, and my goal is to give someone an a-ha moment while reading my books.

“Oh, they went through that, too? I’m not alone.”

I’m not alone.

That’s the most important bit of it, isn’t it? As a writer, I weave bits of fiction into fact, and relay experiences that have deeply shaped my life.

The High Point of my Writing Career

Every time I get a review that mentions that one of my characters touched the reader, I have successfully done my job. Each of those reviews becomes the new high point of my career. Whether it be because I included a character that speaks someone’s home language or because they have a disability, knowing that I touched someone and that they related to what I wrote means the world to me.

Every book I publish I hope to use to let someone know that they are seen, heard, and valued. By weaving my own truth into my books, I help others realize that they are less alone in this large and crazy world.

Tour Schedule:
Oct 30 – Rockin’ Book Reviews – book review of Braidy Von Althuis and the Gullible Ghost Hunter / guest post / giveaway
Oct 30 – Locks, Hooks and Books – book review of Braidy Von Althuis and the Pesky Pest Controller / author interview / giveaway
Oct 30 – Working Mommy Journal – book review of Braidy Von Althuis and the Changeling Children / giveaway
Nov 2 – Rockin’ Book Reviews – book review of Braidy Von Althuis and the Final Fight / giveaway
No 2 – Lisa-Queen of Random – book spotlight / author interview / giveaway
Nov 3 – Book Corner News and Reviews – book review of Braidy Von Althuis and the Gullible Ghost Hunter / giveaway
Nov 3 – Locks, Hooks and Books – book review of Braidy Von Althuis and the Final Fight / giveaway
Nov 4 – Book Corner News and Reviews – book review of Braidy Von Althuis and the Final Fight / giveaway
Nov 4 – Rajiv’s Reviews – book review of Braidy Von Althuis and the Pesky Pest Controller / giveaway
Nov 5 –  Working Mommy Journal – book review of Braidy Von Althuis and the Final Fight / giveaway
Nov 6 – Jazzy Book Reviews – book spotlight / author interview / giveaway
Nov 9 – Book Bustle – book review of Braidy Von Althuis and the Pesky Pest Controller / guest post / giveaway
Nov 10 – Leels Loves Books – book review of Braidy Von Althuis and the Gullible Ghost Hunter / giveaway
Nov 11 – Rajiv’s Reviews – book review of Braidy Von Althuis and the Final Fight / giveaway
Nov 12 – Book Bustle – book review of Braidy Von Althuis and the Final Fight / giveaway
Nov 13 – JBronder Book Reviews – book review of Braidy Von Althuis and the Pesky Pest Controller / giveaway
Nov 16 – Leels Loves Books – book review of Braidy Von Althuis and the Final Fight / giveaway
Nov 17 – Books and Zebras @jypsylynn – book review of Braidy Von Althuis and the Changeling Children / giveaway
Nov 18 – – JBronder Book Reviews – book review of Braidy Von Althuis and the Final Fight / guest post / giveaway
Nov 19 – Books and Zebras @jypsylynn – book review of Braidy Von Althuis and the Final Fight / giveaway
Nov 20 – DZA Blog – book spotlight / guest post / giveaway

 

Enter the Giveaway:

Enter for your chance to win a Complete signed set of Braidy Von Althuis series with Customized Teas (USA only)

a Rafflecopter giveaway

 

I would like to thank iRead Book Tours for the opportunity to read and share this book.

Book Title Braidy Von Althuis and the Pesky Pest Controller (Book 1) by Cassidy Dwelis
Book Series: Braidy Von Althuis
Category Middle-Grade Fiction (Ages 8-12), 320 pages
Genre Paranormal
Publisher Precursor Publishing
Release dates:   May 2017
Content Rating: PG:
Some mild profanity and some mild magical violence

Book Description:
Ten-year-old Braidy von Althuis just wants one thing: to fit in. The other kids at school think he’s weird, and for good reason. Despite his oddities, Braidy wants more than anything for his dad to be able to come to Township Day, a fun-filled event at school, but Mr. von Althuis refuses. “It’s too dangerous,” he says.Things change for Braidy when Mr. von Althuis gets sick, and, even worse, this pesky pest controller won’t leave Braidy alone! Will Braidy be able to get his family to Township Day without his world falling apart?Braidy von Althuis and the Pesky Pest Controller is a tale of friendship, family, magic, and mayhem that takes a look at what it means to be bullied and how to rise above it. This book is suitable for children aged 8 – 11.

Buy the Book:
Amazon     Barnes and Noble
Add to Goodreads

 

 

Meet the Author:
I’m Cassidy, and I love storytelling! I’m incredibly passionate about writing, art, and anything that allows me to create my own worlds. My goal is to write dreamy fiction for all ages that is unique, inspiring, and imaginative. I want my books to instill wonderment in the reader. I like to write about themes that include coming of age, magic realism, identity, relationships, and bullying. My books are intended for readers ages eight to twenty-five, and are meant to connect the world of the fantastical to everyday life. I currently live in Colorado and just got my MA in Publishing!connect with the author:  website ~ twitter ~ facebook ~ instagram ~ goodreads
 
My Review
4 Stars

Braidy von Althuis is ten years old and just wants to fit in. But it is hard when you wear old hand me down clothes that make you stand out in school. It’s even harder when you talk about your father and family but the only two people that are seen are his mother and aunt. This makes him a huge target to the bullies. The school has decided to hold Township Day to help the children create a store and sell things.

Braidy wants nothing more than for his father and the rest of his family to come but it is too dangerous. His father is not really from this realm, his uncle is a ghost, and his grandmother is a puppet. Needless to say they won’t instill trust with the rest of the humans. But there is more going on than just this. His father is having episodes that are getting more and more dangerous. Braidy is in for the start of a great adventure.

I really enjoyed this book. It did take me a little while to figure out who and what everyone in Braidy’s family was. I loved how this group of people has come together and so loving to everyone, in their own way. That goes to show you that no matter how different you are you are still loved.

This is a great story that will appeal to any mid grade reader to adult. I can’t wait to read more about this family. Luckily I do have the last book in the series but I will definitely be playing catch up with the three book in between.

I received a complimentary copy of this book. I voluntarily chose to read and post an honest review.

Tour Schedule:
Oct 30 – Rockin’ Book Reviews – book review of Braidy Von Althuis and the Gullible Ghost Hunter / guest post / giveaway
Oct 30 – Locks, Hooks and Books – book review of Braidy Von Althuis and the Pesky Pest Controller / author interview / giveaway
Oct 30 – Working Mommy Journal – book review of Braidy Von Althuis and the Changeling Children / giveaway
Nov 2 – Rockin’ Book Reviews – book review of Braidy Von Althuis and the Final Fight / giveaway
No 2 – Lisa-Queen of Random – book spotlight / author interview / giveaway
Nov 3 – Book Corner News and Reviews – book review of Braidy Von Althuis and the Gullible Ghost Hunter / giveaway
Nov 3 – Locks, Hooks and Books – book review of Braidy Von Althuis and the Final Fight / giveaway
Nov 4 – Book Corner News and Reviews – book review of Braidy Von Althuis and the Final Fight / giveaway
Nov 4 – Rajiv’s Reviews – book review of Braidy Von Althuis and the Pesky Pest Controller / giveaway
Nov 5 –  Working Mommy Journal – book review of Braidy Von Althuis and the Final Fight / giveaway
Nov 6 – Jazzy Book Reviews – book spotlight / author interview / giveaway
Nov 9 – Book Bustle – book review of Braidy Von Althuis and the Pesky Pest Controller / guest post / giveaway
Nov 10 – Leels Loves Books – book review of Braidy Von Althuis and the Gullible Ghost Hunter / giveaway
Nov 11 – Rajiv’s Reviews – book review of Braidy Von Althuis and the Final Fight / giveaway
Nov 12 – Book Bustle – book review of Braidy Von Althuis and the Final Fight / giveaway
Nov 13 – JBronder Book Reviews – book review of Braidy Von Althuis and the Pesky Pest Controller / giveaway
Nov 16 – Leels Loves Books – book review of Braidy Von Althuis and the Final Fight / giveaway
Nov 17 – Books and Zebras @jypsylynn – book review of Braidy Von Althuis and the Changeling Children / giveaway
Nov 18 – – JBronder Book Reviews – book review of Braidy Von Althuis and the Final Fight / guest post / giveaway
Nov 19 – Books and Zebras @jypsylynn – book review of Braidy Von Althuis and the Final Fight / giveaway
Nov 20 – DZA Blog – book spotlight / guest post / giveaway

Enter the Giveaway:

Enter for your chance to win a Complete signed set of Braidy Von Althuis series with Customized Teas (USA only)

a Rafflecopter giveaway

 

I would like to thank iRead Book Tours for the opportunity to read and share this book.

Undead Ultra Series

Undead Ultra Series

44555825. sy475

Dorm Life (Undead Ultra – 2) by Camille Picott

How do you survive the apocalypse when the only things your companions care about are pot, video games, and beer?
This is the predicament Kate finds herself in after running two hundred miles to find her son.

Holed up in a dorm with Carter and his friends, she is surrounded by college kids who have no interest in gathering supplies, fortifying their home, or even taking out the trash.

Resources are scarce. Zombies are everywhere. Survivors prey on the weak.

Feet have become the only reliable form of transportation. Kate knows this better than anyone. When you move, you need to be quiet, and you need to be quick.

Kate needs to get her kids in shape. She needs to get their minds out of the Xbox and into the apocalypse. If she can’t, none of them will survive.

Amazon     Goodreads

My Review

5 stars

Carter is attending Humboldt University and things are going along as normal until students start eating each other at a party. The survivors hole up in one of the dorms. Some go about cleaning up and preparing but most lay around playing video games getting high and waiting for someone to come save them.

Kate finally gets to the school and finds a bunch of college kids that would rather have someone do all the work for them than fighting back. She has her hands full as they all have attitudes and do not believe her. But if they are going to survive it’s time to listen and get off their butts or else they will be zombie food.

I really enjoyed reading Undead Ultra. It’s a great zombie story with the twist of a long-distance run. There might not be the running in this book but there is a lot of getting your poop in a group and getting in shape. I tip my hat to Kate, she has so much patience with those kids. I think I might have left them for zombie food several times.

This is a great zombie series and I recommend checking it out. It is both on kindle and Audible. I love this and can’t wait to see what happens in the next book, Lost Coast.

49190060. sy475

Lost Coast (Undead Ultra – 3) by Camille Picott

What if zombies evolved … and organized?

Out of the ashes of the zombie apocalypse, Kate and her small band of survivors have created a life and become a family. They train together, scavenge together, and survive together.

Their comfortable routine is interrupted by a frantic distress call. When Kate forms a rescue mission, she and her people find themselves faced with the unthinkable: evolved “alpha” zombies capable of organizing hordes of the undead.

Even worse, the alphas are on the move–and they’re headed straight for the university where the survivors have made their home.

Can Kate and her people outwit the alpha zombies and save their home? Or will they become part of the undead horde?

Amazon     Goodreads

My Review

5 stars

Kate’s little family has gone through tough times with zombies and human survivors. But they have managed to keep going despite the odds. But things are changing. It seems that the zombies are evolving. Herds of zombies are being driven by alphas, those that seem to have become smart enough to lead. If that was not bad enough, they are heading right for the university.

I love how this series keeps evolving. Kate has changed from the sad woman that was afraid to be alone to the leader of her little family. The whole group has changed, not always for the best but to help them survive. It makes sense that the zombies would change too. I loved how they started to become smarter, such a change from the continuous ravenous corpses or just falling apart.

This is an amazing zombie series and one that I strongly recommend checking out but make sure you read them in order. You can get the book on both Kindle and Audible. Gwendolyn Druyor does a fantastic job drawing you into the story and keeping you there for the whole ride.

I love this series and can’t wait to get into the next book, Fort Dead.

53240495. sy475

Fort Dead (Undead Ultra – 4) by Camille Picott

No matter how fast they run…
…time is running out.
Can the Creekside Crew reach their friends before it’s too late?

There are some things scarier than zombies.
For the people of Fort Ross, it’s the raiders who have arrived on their doorstep.
Kate and her companions are their only hope.
But the road to Fort Ross isn’t easy.
There are wildfires . . .
. . . and intelligent alpha zombies.
Can Kate outmaneuver the alpha zoms and get to Fort Ross before it’s too late?

Amazon     Goodreads

My Review

5 stars

When I first saw the line “No matter how fast they run…time is running out” I could not wait to hop into this story with both feet. Fort Ross is under siege and the Creekside Crew are in a race against zombies and time to get to Ford Ross. They have their hands full and not everyone is going to make it through this battle.

I was glad to see that Alvarez is back and I hoped that both Kate and he make it through to the end. This is the last book in the series and of course there are those that won’t make it to the end. But the action and battle go on.

There as so much action that I could not put this book down. I mean you have a crazy drug dealer on one side and alpha zombies on the other. Talk about being stuck between a rock and a hard place!!

I absolutely love this series and recommend checking it out. You can purchase the books on kindle along with the prequel Dawn Patrol. You can also find books 1-3 and the prequel on Audible. I can’t wait to listen to Fort Dead on audiobook. I am now a big fan of Camille Picott and can’t wait to read anything else she has.

About the Author

Camille Picott has been writing Stories from the End of the World since she figured out how to turn on her family’s Apple IIe computer and wrangle a floppy disk into the drive. She loves nothing more than penning an epic action scene or pushing a character to her limits.

Her books, which range from zombie apocalypse, YA dystopia, and epic fantasy, are all Stories from the End of the World. There’s no fun in writing a story if the stakes aren’t high and the fate of the world isn’t in jeopardy.

When Camille isn’t writing or spending time with her family, she loves to run absurdly long distances. It’s not unusual to find her hitting the trail in her running shoes long before the sun rises or cranking out miles (and stories!) on her treadmill desk.

Website     Facebook     Instagram     YouTube

A while ago I was in a book tour for the Undead Ultra. This was a great book and you can find my original post with review HERE. I was lucky enough to speak with Camille Picott and she sent me the other four books in the series. I’m happy to say that I’m finally getting the reviews posted. I hope you will check out this series, it’s a great read.

I would like to thank Camille Picott for the opportunity to share this book.

Limerick Comics

44288002. sx318

Limerick Comics by Robert Hoyman

Limerick Comics offers original limericks on a wide range of history and science topics, each with an informational panel of surprising facts, presented in entertaining comics. Young readers age 8 and up are invited to linger on each page to enjoy the humor, ponder inferences, and view the evocative details of each illustrated panel.

Amazon     Barnes & Noble     Goodreads

Robert Hoyman

About the Author

Robert Hoyman is a graduate of the University of South Florida in Tampa. His journey as a classroom teacher spanned 41 years teaching in private and public schools in Florida, California, and Virginia. Limerick Comics is his debut book. He is a member of SCBWI.

Website

My Reveiw

5 Stars

This is a wonderful collection of twenty-nine limericks. Each limerick was a wonderful illustration and a section of notes to further explain the history and science behind the limericks. You will learn about jesters, ants, and the Titan and Titanic. Although I think my favorite was a canine ballet. There is also a little glossary of term in the back of the book for additional information.

I really enjoyed this book. It’s a fun way to teach children limericks and has some wonderful illustrations that help add to them. I loved the history and science. I even learned some things as I read the book.

Limerick Comics would be a wonderful way to introduce reading and thinking outside the box to children. Although as an adult I was even learning things.

I received a complimentary copy of this book. I voluntarily chose to read and post an honest review.

 

I would like to thank Sherri Rosen Publicity for the opportunity to read and share this book.

Beyond Relatively Normal

YA fantasy

Date Published: January 21, 2020

photo add-to-goodreads-button_zpsc7b3c634.png

Jack Galloway has had enough of life and is chasing a high he just can’t seem to find. Upon meeting with a drug dealer from his school, he is given some mysterious, bean-shaped pills that just so happen to be nothing but beans. However, Relatively Normal beans do not grow miles and miles into the sky overnight, drawing attention from everyone around and destroying the very idea of reality on Earth.

Now, in order to restore his Relatively Normal world, Jack must embark on a mission with a girl he barely knows from high school, Red Crawford, who just so happens to be the only one he knows who has encountered a tear in the non-magical reality they live in.

The beanstalk, too tall and too wide to climb, leads them down a rabbit hole to the strange and nonsensical Underland, where they must go through insane trials in order to reach the answer to their problems — the Giants, magical creatures who live in Overland and can rid the Relatively Normal world of that pesky beanstalk. However, the beanstalk and its effects on reality might just be the least of their worries when they reach the dark, mysterious Overland.

 

Amazon     Goodreads

 

About the Author

Mikaela Miller has not exactly found her place in the world yet, and she’s still trying to understand herself, so there’s not much to say. She loves writing, memes, her friends, and her fur children. She is currently living the small town life but has high hopes of moving to a big city to live out her dreams one day. She loves the darker side of all fairytales and has recently discovered a love for horror novels. This book idea came to her in a dream, as many of her strange ideas do, and she hopes for a bright future as she delves further into her characters’ lives. One day, she would like to be able to rescue lots of homeless animals and be the crazy old cat lady down the street.

Facebook     Twitter     Goodreads     Instagram

My Review

4 Stars

Jack Galloway has a rough life with an abusive mother. To escape he has started drinking and doing drugs. Then one day his dealer gives him something new and he is out of it when fellow classmate Red Crawford tries to help him, and they discover Red’s Grandmother is no longer the woman she knew.

This is the beginning of a dark fairytale adventure that has a giant bean stalk growing in Jack’s back yard. Jack and Red go down the rabbit ho lei search of a way to get rid of the bean stalk and to keep the realms next to Relatively Normal from opening.

What follows is a journey through Wonderland and Neverland but this is no Disney journey. It is filled with dark characters that want to do some serious harm to jack and Red. I felt for Jack, he has never thought of Red as a real friend, but he is racked with guilt because he feels he conned her from going on this journey with him.

This was a good read. I felt for Jack with everything going on with him. I was really curious about Red and was not disappointed. Of course, I fell in love with the Wonderland portion of the book, I’m such a huge fan of Alice in Wonderland and this was what I really think of when I think of traveling through. Neverland was just the same way although I’m not really familiar with Peter Pan.

This is a great story and an excellent beginning to the series. I can’t wait to read more of this series.

I received a complimentary copy of this book. I voluntarily chose to read and post an honest review.

Enter for your chance to win a $20 Amazon Gift Card

a Rafflecopter giveaway
https://widget-prime.rafflecopter.com/launch.js

RABT Book Tours & PR
I would like to thank RABT Book Tours and PR for the opportunity to read and share this book.

Wild Sky

Wild Sky: The Relic Hunters #2

Wild Sky (The Relic Hunters – 2)

After delivering the pearl, Finn and Aria thought life would return to normal.

But with the survival of the clans still in peril, they must continue their quest.

Can they find the next relic before the forces of evil?

Not everyone is who they appear to be, and time is running out …

Amazon UK     Amazon US     Audible     Goodreads

My Review

4 stars

We jump right into the story in the same place as Eternal Seas ends. It’s Aria’s turn to find the air tamer relic. The journal she was given by the elders really isn’t helping but when she decides to share she learns that more eyes can help. Off they are to a former fort then off to a monastery in India.

But trouble strikes and mom is injured and dad can’t continue. It also seems that the elders have a secret regarding a demon that is now wrecking havoc on the world. At every turn it seems the kids are not going to make it. But friends arrive at strange times.

This was a great continuation of the story. You could read it as a standalone book but you get so much more from reading the series in order. Poor Pippin, I swear she means well but every time her choices seem to cause more trouble.

I love where this book is going and I can’t wait to read the next book in the series. Chris Devon does a fantastic job narrating this story. This series is wonderful for mid grade readers to adults.

41079940. sy475

Eternal Seas (The Relic Hunters – 1)

Such a small parcel shouldn’t cause experienced smugglers much trouble, but this parcel is far from normal.

Lost and scared after a violent storm, Finn and his sister, Aria, take shelter on a remote island. They discover the parcel contains a relic belonging to a long forgotten people. Locked inside are powers which will change their lives, and the world, forever.

As Finn realises his connection to the relic, a vision strikes him – but what does it mean? Who should they trust? And if they decide to follow their hearts rather than their orders, will they manage to deliver the relic in one piece?

Chased across the seas as they try to solve the mysteries within the parcel, the fate of this ancient people depends on them. Finn and Aria must choose between what is right and what is easy – and time is running out …

Amazon UK     Amazon US     Audible     Barnes & Noble     Goodreads

My Review

4 stars

A long time ago, people had magical powers over the elements. But the clan elders decided to keep them safe and locked the powers away in relics. Now the world has changed and people know of magic only from stories. Finn and his family are smugglers and have been giving the task of retrieving a package. A problem arises when they open the package and learn that it is the relic that holds the water tamers magic.

Finn’s family sets out to take the relic to the elders, where the magic can be released. But their enemies are many and are chasing them to get their hands on the relic. If they can destroy the relic the sea tamer magic will be destroyed forever.

Finn and his family make a living smuggling items for clients. They have been trying to keep things going since they lost mother a while ago. But a strange package they pickup is messing with Finn. On the way to deliver it they find themselves on a strange island and learn that the package actually holds the water tamer relic. They also learn that their mother is still alive and being held hostage for the relic. But if they turn over the relic it will surly get destroyed.

This is a great story filled with action, adventure, an evil Lord, and magic. I was quickly sucked into the story and couldn’t get back to the audiobook fast enough. Christopher Dickins does a fantastic job narrating this book.

I loved this story and can’t wait to get into the next book, Wild Sky.

I received a complimentary copy of both books. I voluntarily chose to listen to and post an honest review.

Lexi Rees

Author Bio

Lexi Rees was born in Scotland but now lives down south. She writes action-packed adventures brim full of witch-doctors, fortune-tellers, warriors and smugglers, combining elemental magic with hints of dystopia. She also writes fun activity books for children.

Her fantasy adventure, Eternal Seas, was awarded a “loved by” badge from LoveReading4Kids. The sequel, Wild Sky, is available now.

She’s passionate about developing a love of reading and writing in children and, as well as her Creative Writing Skills workbook, she has an active programme of school visits and other events, is a Book PenPal for three primary schools, and runs a free online #kidsclub and newsletter which includes book recommendations and creative writing activities.

In her spare time, she’s a keen crafter and spends a considerable amount of time trying not to fall off horses or boats.

Website     Twitter     Facebook     Pinterest     Instagram

Win the children’s adventure series, the Relic Hunters, on Audible, including both Eternal Seas PLUS Wild Sky. Total listening time of almost 8 hours.

Free UK or UK audible code.

ENTER HERE

I would like to thank Rachel’s Random Resources for the opportunity to listen to and share both of these books.

Parasite

Parasite? The Secret Diary of a Landlord

Get ready to learn what really happens behind closed doors.

Landlords have become one of the most hated groups in society. Parasites, they’re often called. And there’s a lot of them. The Treasury estimates there are almost 2.6 million landlords in the UK with around 5.45 million rental properties.

But the real life of a professional landlord is very different to what most people think. From burglaries and break-ins to drug raids, police warrants, crazy tenant antics, bailiffs, squatters, lawsuits, wrecked properties, interfering council officers, game-playing freeholders to moments of heartfelt joy and happiness, the life of a landlord is never dull. Especially when the government keeps moving the goalposts.

This explosive front line exposé blows the lid off what it’s really like to be a landlord and the shocking reality of renting out a property. Hovering close to a nervous breakdown and likely suffering PTSD, The Secret Landlord exposes truths rarely shared. Stories that will grip you, move you and smack you in the face.

This is the truth, the other side of the door. 

Amazon UK     Amazon US     Goodreads

Author Bio

The Secret Landlord has been renting, refurbishing and selling properties across the UK for almost two decades. An award winning landlord, as judged by the National Landlords Association, The Secret Landlord has provided accommodation for hundreds of tenants from all walks of life.

Website     Twitter

My Review

4 stars

Typically when I think of landlord I think of those that I have had to deal with in the past. Most are good but some should be squashed like the bugs they are. But that is the view of the tenant, what does the landlord actually go through? When I saw this book for review I was curious to find out what the other side looks like.

This book is written in a diary format with tenants referred to ask colors for fear of law suit. It starts out simple enough, the author thought being a landlord would be easy and full filling. Unfortunately to goes on to show there are good tenants then there are the scum of the earth. You will learn of thing people do to try and get free rent, how they treat other people’s homes/apartments, and how they try to get the landlords in trouble.

This is an eye opening story for those of us on the outside. I knew of people that had taken advantage of their landlords but never to this extent. Like the author comments, “I was a nice person and I trusted people but instead I now realize you can’t show any weakness.”

This is a great book and one that I recommend checking out. My heart goes out to the author and other landlords that have to deal with this mess.

I received a complimentary copy of this book. I voluntarily chose to read and post an honest review.

I would like to thank Rachel’s Random Resources for the opportunity to read and share this book.

Gatekeeper

Book One in the Daemon Collecting Series

 Fantasy

Date Published: October 6, 2020
 Publisher: Spark Press
 

photo add-to-goodreads-button_zpsc7b3c634.png

Rachel Wilde comes from a dimension that exists adjacent to ours. The people there have structured their society around daemon collecting: they locate, catch, and repair malfunctioning daemons (creatures out of phase with our world that tempt people to do good or evil). Now Rachel has been given two unusual assignments: 1) find a person who has been trying to break down dimensional barriers, and 2) track down a missing line of gatekeepers, human placeholders for a daemon that was too badly damaged to repair. Authorities of Rachel’s world believe the missing gatekeepers are descended from a girl who went missing from West Africa hundreds of years ago, likely sold into slavery. With no leads to go on, Rachel seeks help from Bach, a raving homeless man who happens to be an oracle. Bach does put her in the path of both of her targets―but he also lands her in a life-threatening situation. Somehow, Rachel has to stop the criminal, reunite a gatekeeper with her stolen past, and, above all, survive.

 

Purchase Links

Amazon Barnes and Noble Kobo iBooks

 

About the Author

ALISON LEVY lives in Greensboro, North Carolina with her husband, son, and variety of pets. When she’s not writing or doing mom things, she crochets, gardens, walks her collies, and works on home improvement projects.

Contact Links

Facebook Twitter Instagram

 

My Review
5 Stars

Rachel Wilde is from a dimension that is responsible for maintaining daemons. She over sleeps one day and gets assigned a couple crummy jobs, find a broken daemon, find a human trying to open a portal to the demon dimension, and find the last Gatekeeper. The first is easy to take on but the human puts up one heck of a fight but Rachel is up to the challenge.

The Gatekeeper is another issue. A Gatekeeper is a human that has the ability to open a portal and release a daemon. The problem is the bloodline that should be able to do this was recently killed. Rachel is not happy about this but with a call to archives and an undocumented oracle she might just find the woman.

I was instantly drawn into the story with the prologue that was unexpected. From there, Rachel is a tough woman, knows her business, and is determined to finish her tasks. I had a hard time stepping away from the book and would rush back to see what would happen next. Personally I think my favorite character was the woman’s coat, I’m not going to give that one away.

If you like fantasy stories I recommend checking out Gatekeeper. I really enjoyed the read and I’m very excited to find out where this story is going to go in the next book.

I received a complimentary copy of this book for free. I voluntarily chose to read and post an honest review.

RABT Book Tours & PR

I would like to thank RABT Book Tours and PR for the opportunity to read and share this book.

The Matriarch

Women of the Dust, Book 1

Dystopian Romance

Release Date: October 12, 2020

Publisher: AKM Publishing Pty Ltd

 

 photo add-to-goodreads-button_zpsc7b3c634.png

 

Her citizens are oppressed. His society is diminishing. In a frantic bid for survival, can their fiery union save their peoples?

On a scorched and barren future Earth, Yolanda is her people’s only hope. As Matriarch of an all-female nation, the battle-hardened commander fights an impossible war while desperately seeking a way to stop her subjects from dying of thirst. But when the enemy king is beheaded by his own warrior son, she’s offered a truce that will bring the water they urgently need… in return for leaving her populace defenseless.

With his father dead by his hand, the Hammer is determined to rebuild the shattered community the warmongering king’s brutality almost destroyed. In a bold move to strengthen his dwindling numbers, he offers armistice to a dangerous queen and her bloodthirsty horde of fighting women. All he asks in exchange is for her to accompany him to petition the Council to drop their poisonous sanctions…

As they uncover the truth behind the horrific war, Yolanda is surprised when her begrudging respect for her capable companion blossoms into unexpected desire. And though the Hammer learns there’s more to the impassioned fighter than her brutal reputation suggests, he fears giving himself to her could make him a traitor to his own kind.

When their united strength pits them against oppressive factions, will their growing bond become an unbreakable force?

 

The Matriarch is the thrilling first novel in the Women of the Dust dystopian romance series. If you like enemies-to-lovers, dynamic couples, and empowered feminism, then you’ll adore Annabelle McInnes’s gritty tale.

 

Buy The Matriarch to fight for freedom today!

 

Purchase Links

Amazon     B&N     Kobo     iBooks

 

About the Author 

From the age of sixteen, Annabelle lived in a homeless youth refuge while she remained committed to her education. She spent two years within a section of society that most overlook. 

Her experiences are the foundations that drive her stories and her characters. They fight for their freedoms, have courage in the face of adversity and always aspire for greatness.

Annabelle is the author of True Refuge, an International Bestseller and a finalist for the Australian Romantic Book of the Year in 2018. She is privileged to live in a small rural town in country New South Wales and writes to a distinctive Australian backdrop with its captivating change of seasons. 

Outside of her love for reading, she spends her time with her husband, son and her fifteen year old poodle named Serendipity. She drinks her whisky neat and can often be found at the local market hunting for blue cheese and artisan bread.

Contact Links

Website     Facebook     Instagram     Promo Link

 RABT Book Tours & PR

I would like to thank RABT Book Tours and PR for the opportunity to share this book.

Soul Stealer

 

 

Urban Fantasy, Supernatural Thriller

Published: May 2020

Publisher: THEORYbee

photo add-to-goodreads-button_zpsc7b3c634.png

  He was looking forward to college…

…but then the worst possible thing happened.

Could Nythan survive the demon inside of him?

College in Florida was supposed to be about the beaches, the girls, and sometimes even a class or two. But the demon inside had one demand. Help it fulfill its quest so the demon might escape. It’s the only way for Nythan to get his life back.

There are just two problems…

Nythan doesn’t want to hurt innocent people…

And there’s a secret order out to stop him.

They’re called the Ordo Solis, an ancient group whose only mission is to hunt down and destroy the Soulstealer. They’ve been chasing it for thousands of years. It’s in Nythan, and they have no choice.

The host must die.

Caught in the middle, Nythan must come up with a plan.

Will he survive?

You’ll love this coming-of-age urban fantasy because it’s an action-packed adventure that will keep you turning the pages.

Purchase Links

Amazon     iBooks     B&N     B-A-M     IndieBound 

 Praise for Soulstealer:    

“A measured but engaging start to what’s sure tobe an epic supernatural saga” – KirkusReviews

    “Soulstealer is a fast-paced thriller that keptme turning the pages, highly recommended!” – Readers’Favorite, 4 out of 5 stars!

    “A vivid story that mature teens will findcompelling…highly recommended for prior fans of urbanfantasy” – MidwestBook Review

    “Fun and fast-paced, SOULSTEALER is a great mixof urban fantasy, fantastical mythos and real world framing” – IndieReader, 3.8out of 5 stars!

    “…a compelling urban fantasy novelthat teems with moral quandaries” – ForewordReviews

    Finalist for 2020International Book Awards, Fiction: Visionary Category

    “Boulware fleshes out even the most minor ofcharacters, employing dialogue that’s natural and believable” -BlueInkReview

    Nominated for Best Audiobook Narrator forMLC Audiobook Awards,Summer 2020

    Nominated for Production with Outstanding Sound-Voice-Narration forMLC AudiobookAwards, Honorable Mention Award

    “…filled with embellished metaphors, engagingplot, and a smooth style” – BookLife(Publisher’s Weekly)

    “…looking forward to the Soulstealer’s next chapter”- San Francisco Book Review, 4 out of 5 stars!

    “Every element in its right place. A greatcover design” – The BookDesigner

    “I implore you lovely readers to get lost in his work” – Red HeadedBook Lover, 5 out of 5 stars!

 

 

About The Author 

Shane Boulware is an unconventional idealist from Orlando, Florida. Naturally, he commissioned as a Contracting Officer in the United States Air Force in 2012, where he promptly got tased, was hit with pepper spray, participated in a mock riot, jumped out of an airplane, and lived in a combat zone. These experiences tempered his creative instinct and led him to publish two music albums, found an innovation company, break a Guinness World Record, and learn over sixteen dance styles.

Having grown up a huge fan of Dune, Star Wars, Stargate SG-1, Warhammer 40K, Harry Potter, Avatar: The Last Airbender, and The Lord of the Rings, Shane always wanted to create and share a world of his own. His imagination set him on a path to write the supernatural thriller, Soulstealer, and its sequel, Ordo Solis.

When he’s not negotiating contracts or salsa dancing the night away, you can find Shane taking his creative passion out on an unsuspecting keyboard. If you want to know when his next book will be available, visit his website at ShaneBoulware.com, where you can sign up to receive release updates and join a community of savants, swashbucklers, and nerds.

 

Contact Links

Website     Twitter     Facebook LinkedIn     YouTube      Instagram Promo Link

 

RABT Book Tours & PR

I would like to thank RABT Book Tours and PR for the opportunity to share this book.