Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Debt Free ASAP

Blitz Banner

Congratulations to John Nicholas on the release of his book, Debt-Free ASAP! Fitting that this book should come to the rescue after all our holiday excess! There is also a chance to win a $25 Amazon gift card. Perhaps a treat for getting your finances in order?

ASAP COVERS - FRONT BACK - RED

Debt-Free ASAP! Publication Date: January 8, 2021 (Today) Genre: Non-Fiction/ Finances
“If you’re stressed out, maxed out or even wiped out by too much debt, then you’ve come to the right place.
We will help you gain peace of mind, get rid of your debt and chart a brighter future for you and your finances. The key to your recovery is our simple 3-step ‘ASAP Protocol’ and I guarantee it will change your life as we walk you through it together.”

Add to Goodreads

Excerpt

Your Debt Load, Net Worth, P&L & FICO

Rodney and Crystal knew they had a lot of debt but weren’t sure exactly how much.

So they took turns guessing, as I listened to them talk on their speaker phone.

“I’ve got to have at least forty-five or fifty,” said Crystal, as she tried to calculate her card balances in her head. “But I don’t know how much you’ve got,” she said to her husband.

“Well I definitely don’t have as much as you!” He replied with a chortle, “But I’m guessing thirty-something, maybe forty K.”

Unfortunately, neither one of them was even close.

These two clients would set one of the highest debt-load totals for non-business-related credit card debt for a couple that I’ve come across, with 27 accounts totaling more than $168,000, including multiple accounts with the same banks. And that didn’t include their home mortgage or car loans or any kind of student loans or medical debts.

“Wow.” They said at least three times each as we reviewed their long list of accounts one by one then totaled them all up. It turned out Crystal was carrying more than ninety thousand and Rodney had over $70K worth of debt.

They didn’t know their total debt load and they didn’t realize their monthly minimums totaled more than $4,000 a month.

“Don’t worry,” I consoled them. “You’re not alone. Some people know their numbers to the penny, but most folks underestimate how much debt they have. They never add everything up, or they lose track or they just stop looking.”

Fortunately, these two had solid incomes. But even so they were burning up most of it on minimum monthly payments and were using credit cards and falling further behind every month to keep up with their other living expenses. They were the financial equivalent of a “heart attack waiting to happen.”

Available on Amazon! About the Author JP WHITE BRICK PHOTO

John Nicholas is the Founder of Debt-Free ASAP, a wealth coaching company offering affordable services and debt-relief support. John is a former pro football player, pastor and co-founder/partner of award winning sports media and real estate companies. He’s a Certified Debt Specialist and is a graduate of Brown University and Fuller Seminary who lives with his wife and dogs in McKinney, TX.

Learn more at www.Debt-FreeASAP.com.

For a chance to win a $25 Amazon gift card, click the link below!

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Book Blitz Organized By:

R&R Button

I would like to thank R&R Book Tours for the opportunity to share this book.

Solo: A Down to Earth Guide for Travelling the World Alone by Aaron Hodges

Feeling alone? Trapped? Lost?

Time for an adventure!

The bad times won’t last forever, and for more than five years, Aaron Hodges has journeyed the globe alone, visiting everywhere from Istanbul to Argentina. Honest and insightful, SOLO is packed with his personal travel tips and humorous stories. Learn about the ups and downs, the triumphs and the pitfalls of venturing off the beaten path. Follow his guidelines for exploring the world alone and be inspired to take the trip you’ve always dreamed of.

Discover the world of solo travel.

Go Solo!

Amazon     Barnes and Noble     Books2Read     Goodreads

Author Bio

Aaron Hodges was born in 1989 in the small town of Whakatane, New Zealand. He studied for five years at the University of Auckland, completing a Bachelors of Science in Biology and Geography, and a Masters of Environmental Engineering. After working as an environmental consultant for two years, he grew tired of office work and decided to quit his job in 2014 and see the world. One year later, he published his first novel – Stormwielder – while in Guatemala. Since then, he has honed his skills while travelling through parts of SE Asia, India, North and South America, Turkey and Europe, and now has over a dozen works to his name. Today, his adventures continue…

Instagram     Facebook

My Review

4 Stars

I have to admit that I have never been one to want to travel. I love my home and staying away from people. I’m really leery about being on my own in a strange country. But I do enjoy watching travel shows on television and reading about them. So I figured that I would give Solo a try.

Aaron Hodges has traveled the world for the last five years and has written a guide for anyone who wants to travel but is by themselves. I enjoyed how he shared his different stories of his adventures. It was just like talking to a friend over a beer/glass of wine. But the thing I really liked was the tips he had for travelers. Where to eat and sleep, how to stay clean, and all of those little things we don’t always think about when we plan trips like this.

If you like travel, want to go on a world trip, or just like the idea of escape, I recommend checking out this book. Aaron is a delightful author and I would love to sit down with him and share more stories. I think I just may want to go for a trip sometime in the future.

I received a complimentary copy of this book. I voluntarily chose to read and post an honest review.

I would like to thank Rachel’s Random Resources for the opportunity to read and share this book.

Anger is Acid

Angerisanacid

Welcome to the final book tour for The Patience of a Deadman trilogy, by Michael Clark. Anger is Acid is the bone-chilling conclusion, and today I have an excerpt for you and a giveaway to enter!

Anger is Acid

Anger is Acid (The Patience of a Dead Man #3)

Publication Date: May 4, 2020

Genre: Horror/ Ghost Story

Mildred has control… Tim and Holly, realizing they are helpless, are grateful when a stranger knocks on their door – but can he help? Andrew Vaughn, a haunted man, is on-scene, hoping to lend a hand – against his will. Meanwhile, the “ghost story” is becoming national news and attracting attention that Tim can’t afford.

Holly can’t stay in the house any more and draws a line. Confidence is low, and pressure builds. Meanwhile, Mildred listens to almost everything they say. Is there any way around her anger? Or will they die in vain, as they desperately search for Tim’s daughters?

Add to Goodreads

Excerpt

With the doors locked, Tim and Holly exchanged concerns.

“Yes, I know it was her. I’m sure she has the girls too. You don’t have to tell me, Holly. I’m scared shitless. They could be…” He couldn’t bring himself to finish the sentence.

“Well, we can’t think that way yet. She left Sheila’s body behind. She would have left theirs too. I think they’re alive.” Holly had other fears, but she didn’t finish her thoughts out loud.

“How the hell did she know where they live? Amesbury is seventy miles from here!” Holly felt a chill climb her back as he finished his sentence.

“She seems to come and go from this house as she pleases, Tim. She knows this place as well as if not better than we do. I’ve told you a hundred times–I hate staying here!Please, let’s go to my place. Even if she knows where I live, I’ll feel a little better. At least I don’t think she’s ever been there, but this place…she could be anywhere. I don’t even want to think about it.”

“I can’t leave, Holly. As backward as it may sound, I need to see her. I’m afraid I’ll never see her again! Imagine that? And don’t forget that Thomas Pike had no problem finding your place when he dropped off the Simmons scrapbook. Remember?” Holly nodded, unhappy that Tim had a point.

“Oh, you’ll see her again, Tim. You can bet on that. At least once anyway. It won’t be a sneak attack either. She wants you to know she’s coming and probably wants you to die long and slow. She wants revenge. That’s what revenants do, remember? We just never thought that she’d go for the girls. And that–changes everything.” Holly’s sigh was heavy with dread as she stared blankly at the wall, defeated. There was an unintentional moment of silence.

“How the hell does she get in here?” Tim finally wondered aloud, rousing them both from their separate thoughts. “Does she have a fucking key or something? Secret entrance? The roof?”

“The turret. It’s got to be the turret.” Holly suddenly seemed extra awake and even afraid. She subconsciously looked up at the ceiling where the turret would be. The stairway to it was only two rooms away. They both rose to investigate, flicking the dining room light on along the way. Tim listened outside the door for a moment, then fetched his baseball bat from the kitchen before opening it.

They climbed the stairs slowly. Holly was relieved to find the turret was empty, but it left Tim with a lack of answers and a growing level of frustration. Mildred had decided to let them worry and wonder about the girls for at least an evening–the very first evening of their captivity. Was it by design, meant to heighten the anguish? Or was she busy looking for a place to hole them up?

The girls were trapped with the dead woman and most likely terrified. Tim wished he could trade places with them–they were too young for such terror. Tim rested the bat against the wall and tried the windows. There were eight of them ringing the octagonal room, and much to Tim’s surprise, one of them was unlocked.

“What the hell! I locked these– I’m sure I locked them.”

“Yes, but you don’t check them every night, Tim. All she had to do is get in here once during the day to get up here and unlock it. And look, your papers are all sitting right there.” Holly motioned to Tim’s box in the corner. “That’s how she knew where Sheila lived. Now we know–and it creeps me out—I can’t tell you how much.” Tim saw where the conversation was headed and changed the subject.

“I need to boobytrap this place. Get her right here in this room, and then set a trap, like a bear trap or…”

“You don’t think she’ll see a bear trap in the middle of the floor? That’s just going to piss her off, Tim. And you’re liable to hurt yourself with the damn thing. Same with knives or fire or whatever else you’re thinking.” Holly’s stress did all the talking.

“I wasn’t thinking about knives or fire, come on, give me a little bit of credit.” Tim lied about the knives. “I was thinking something along the lines of a warning system. Something to make her fall down the stairs. A bag of marbles—I don’t fucking know…” Holly giggled, then the giggle turned into laughter. Tim saw that she genuinely thought it was funny and was not making fun of him, so he joined in for a moment–yet the gravity of their problem hung in the room like a cloud of poison dust.

“How about a simple tripwire with a little bell on it?” Holly offered. “One at the bottom of the turret stairs, one in front of the sliding glass door in the breakfast area and one at the bottom of the bedroom stairs? We set it up every night. In the morning, unhook it, so we’re not tripping over it ourselves.” Tim looked up at her.

“That’s an idea. Better than we have now. And like you said—‘we’re gonna see her again.’ We have to. Oh God, I hope and pray she’s greedy and wants to see me again. But–” Tim got quiet and put his balled fist under his nose. Holly saw he was getting emotional.

“Honey, we’re doing all we can, let’s just–”

“But if she’s already done—if this is her revenge—and she’s never coming back, then she’s really good at it.” Tim’s last three words were nearly inaudible as he choked up, worried sick about his daughters. Holly hugged him, trying to hold back tears of her own.

Available on Amazon!

The Patience of a Dead Man KINDLE Book One CoverThe Patience of a Dead Man

He just spent everything on a house in disrepair, but he didn’t know someone was waiting inside.

Tim Russell just put his last dollar on a handyman’s dream; a quaint but dilapidated farmhouse in New Hampshire. Newly single after a messy divorce, his plan is to live in the house as he restores it for resale. To his horror, as soon as the papers are signed and his work starts, ghosts begin to appear. A bone-white little boy. A woman covered in flies. Tim can’t afford to leave and lose it all, so he turns to his real estate agent Holly Burns to help him decide whether he has any shot at solving his haunted problem. Can they solve the mystery before he loses his investment…or maybe his life?

Featured Image -- 7665Dead Woman Scorned (The Patience of a Dead Man #2)

She’s back, and they’ll regret what they’ve done.

Mildred Wells had a miserable life that carried over to a lonesome death. In the end, they betrayed her – played her the fool. She was the last to know, but there’s still time to catch up. She’ll formulate her painful plan as they live their lives in blissful ignorance.

With no more family, only vengeance drives her; in fact, it’s all she has. She would have rather rested in peace, but for Mildred, dying isn’t so easy.

About the Author

MikeClark-55-small

Michael Clark was raised in New Hampshire and lived in the house The Patience of a Dead Man is based. The bats really circled the rafters of the barn all day long, and there really was a grove hidden in the forest. He now lives in Massachusetts with his wife Josi and his dog Bubba.

The Patience of a Dead Man, Dead Woman Scorned & Anger is an Acid are his first three novels.

Twitter | Instagram | Facebook | BookBub

My Review

5 Stars

We jump right in where we left off in Dead Woman Scorned. Mildred Wells has decided to murder Tim’s ex-wife and kidnap his daughters. She has always wanted a daughter and is trying to make them hers.

Tim and Holly have help from Andrew Vaughn, a young man haunted by Thomas Pike. But no matter what they try to do to stop Mildred, she is always one step ahead of them. She is very powerful and filled with anger and she intent on tormenting Tim and Holley before she finishes them off.

We have come to the end of the Patience of a Dead Man series and I admit that I was reluctant to read it because I almost didn’t want it to end. I have to say that Mildred’s journey has been interesting. I went from being scared of her to sympathizing with her. I felt for him in this book but at the same time know that she is rabid and needs to be put down.

But then again Tim, Holly, and Andrew are great characters and I wanted them to save the girls, especially when you learn what Mildred is planning on doing to them. What a horrible position to be in, dancing on the blade of a knife of trying to get the girls while wanting to kill Mildred once and for all.

This is a captivating series and one that I recommend reading. It was slow to start but once it gets going you don’t want to put the books down until you are done. It is also available on Audible. I strongly recommend check out those books too. Mark Harrietha does a fantastic job drawing you in and breathing life into these characters and the story.

I received a complimentary copy of this book. I voluntarily chose to read and post an honest review.

Enter for Your Chance to Win The Patience of a Dead Man Trilogy (Print) US only or a print copy of book #1, Patience of a Dead Man for International entries.

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Angerisanacid

Book Tour Schedule

November 30th

Reads & Reels (Spotlight)

Cats Luv Coffee (Review)

Loopy Lou Laura (Review)

Purple Shelf Club (Review)

@TheCrookedHouse (Review)

December 1st

Breakeven Books (Spotlight)

Jessica Belmont (Review)

@_MyBookCorner (Review)

Sophril Reads (Review)

December 2nd

J Bronder Book Reviews (Review)

@The.B00kReader (Review)

Stine Writing (Review)

December 3rd

Ally’s Reading Corner (Review)

@BearPigLovesBooks (Review)

@DreaminginPages (Review)

December 4th

@Better_Off_Read (Review)

@jypsylynn (Review)

The Faerie Review (Review)

Book Tour Organized By:

R&R Button

I would like to thank R&R Book Tours for the opportunity to read and share this series.

BirthoftheFae

I am so excited to share this book with you all today! Birth of the Fae: Locked Out of Heaven by Danielle M. Orsino is now available in paperback! Check out this gorgeous book and make sure to enter the giveaway for a chance to win some amazing prizes!

BirthoftheFae-front

The Birth of the Fae: Locked Out of Heaven (Vol. 1)

Publication Date: June 19th 2020

Genre: Epic Fantasy/ Adventure

Ride on the backs of fire breathing dragons with the Dark Fae and watch the Light Fae play in the shadows of primitive humanity as they build their magical world. Abandoned by their creator, two factions of powerful angels remain on earth after the Great War with Lucifer. They struggle to comprehend their Creator’s plan while their angel wings, a symbol of their angelic lineage, slowly and painfully decay. With no hope of returning to the Shining Kingdom, two groups of angels denounce their angelic lineage and develop into separate factions – the Court of Light, led by Queen Aurora, a former Virtue Angel, and the Court of Dark, ruled by King Jarvok, a former Power Brigade Angel. The two monarchs have opposing views on how to govern their kin, but the one belief they agree on is that human worship equals power.

Birth of the Fae: Locked Out of Heaven is an epic fantasy adventure of heartbreak, rebirth, and hope that examines the bonds of family, friendship, and love. It is a fantastic tale of good vs evil in a beautiful world, where the Light Fae and their potent elemental magick are tested by the raw power of the dragon riding Dark Fae warriors.

Add to Goodreads

Excerpt

The Veil - Final (1)

Chapter Twenty-Six: “Worship Equals Power”

“To be a creature of chaos is to be used by the energy of disorder, to be a tool of it. You are allowing confusion to lead you. I want more for us. We will take control of the pandemonium. Those who control chaos control their destiny. Do not let it lead you like a pet on a leash.”

King Jarvok turned and walked to the window, hands behind his back. “Now go, and Chaos be with you, Zion.” Zion smirked. His blue eyes glowed with comprehension as his shoulders pulled back. “No, my liege. Chaos be with us.” He turned and ran with a renewed vigor for his mission.

Jarvok curled his lip for a moment as he gazed out the window at Zion’s enthusiasm, but his stoic expression returned. He waited for the bang of the heavy doors to exhale. His shoulders slumped as the weight of his rule took him under. He leaned his hands on the window, the magma crumbling and sliding from his palms as the pressure caused small fissures to appear in the sill. His head hung low, his hair falling to his face as he raised his honey eyes looking out over the training yard. They would need to train every day and even do night formations. No rest.

The scent of cedar and sage wafted up from the bonfires below. He knew his plan to attack was sound but his timeline was of concern. If Aurora continued to gather and unify her human worshippers, she could have the magick to overtake his kin and force them into serving the Virtues as their army. The thought of his kin living a life of servitude caused Jarvok to force the acid back down his throat. No, he would not risk anyone gaining the upper hand over him. He had hidden his kin in his Veil, established them as gods to the humans, and formed an alliance with the Draconians. He would not force the Draconians to fight alongside him against Aurora but if they chose to stand with him he would accept their help.

He had been strategic in observing her, watching and waiting. She was a naive, idealistic, egotistical ruler with no battle experience. An almost certain victory. By making an example out of Aded, the humans would fear his kin and as Jarvok had learned, it was better to be feared than loved. One just needed to ask his Creator.

Available at Barnes & Noble & on Amazon!

About the Author

fin for web

Danielle M Orsino, destined to be a writer from a young age, was working as a nurse and treating a patient who needed some distractions during long I.V. Treatment sessions. So, Orsino reached back to a forgotten skill, A childhood dream. Danielle had wanted to be a writer and so she decided to tell a story. Little did she know the seed would grow into a fantastically epic adventure of heartbreak, hope and rebirth — Birth of Fae: Locked Out of Heaven. Drawing from her passion for comic books, Cosplay and fantasy along with her expert martial arts expertise, Orsino brings forth an electric and hopeful debut.

Danielle is taking on her biggest challenge to date: taking the story born from the long treatment sessions with a patient into a fantasy book series-Birth of the Fae: Locked out of Heaven. Expanding her love of writing, comics and exploring the world of fantasy novels, she delves into the realm of fairies and retells their origins from a completely new perspective. Orsino has a Bachelor’s degree in Kinesiology and Exercise science and is an LPN with a special interest in Lyme disease research. Orsino has been widely recognized from her influence and experience in martial arts realm, training for over 20 years and with over 500 tournament wins, and accumulating national and world titles. She has performed for former President of the United States Bill Clinton and has been featured on “Soap Talk, Fox Five news CBS, TLC and E! With this experience, she worked as a Fight Choreographer on ”Wonder Woman: Balance of Power” and has worked with the likes of martial arts legend Vincent Lyn and WWE marvel and action star Dwayne “The Rock” Johnson. Nothing Danielle ever does is simple, look at what NY times Bestselling author Clete Barrett Smith has to say about her debut endeavor: “After summoning this world into existence through an imaginative force of will, Danielle has scoured every inch of the landscape several times over. Critics often praise a story’s world building by saying that it feels “lived in.” Well, the world of the Fae certainly seems like that because Danielle herself has happily lived there for years as she worked to put all of this together…My favorite part of this story is that it is gloriously depicted in vibrant images.

The Birth of the Fae | Instagram | Spotify Playlist

My Review

4 Stars

When Lucifer was cast out of heaven, several other angels were locked out too. They may have fought in the war or were simply doing what they were created for but they find themselves locked out all the same. They try to get an answer from God but he refuses to reply.

Hurt and betrayed about all they can do is to continue on. Some follow Queen Aurora, a former Virtue Angel, who creates the Court of the Light Fae. King Jarvok, a former Power Brigade Angel has other ideas on how to run the Court of the Dark Fae. They may run their courts differently but both have decided worship from the humans is the ultimate goal.

I really enjoyed this story. This is a powerful world and I couldn’t help but feel bad for the angels. I be locked out of the only home you know and be ignored by the one being that created you, gave you a purpose, and won’t even explain why is just heartbreaking. I really understood the motivation for both angels.

The thing I loved the most was the different creatures from mythology that we find in this world. From mermaids to pixies to dragons, do I have to say more? I also like how we have stories in the bible mixed into the book also.

This is a wonderful start to a series. There are a lot of characters and development in this short story. I admit that I took a little to get into the story but once I did it took off. I am really excited to see where this is going to go in the next book, especially with how it ended.

I received a complimentary copy of this book. I voluntarily chose to read and post an honest review.

Enter for Your Chance to Win:

1st place: 1 book (autographed) 1 map of the veil, $10 Amazon gift card and one birth of the Fae candle

2nd place: 1 autographed book and candle

3rd place 1 autographed book

Please click the link below to enter! Giveaway will be running from now until December and is open to everyone!

a Rafflecopter giveaway

BirthoftheFae

Book Tour Schedule

November 30th

Reads & Reels (Excerpt)

I Love Books & Stuff (Excerpt)

Quirky Cat’s Fat Stacks (Review)

@Better_Off_Read (Review)

@bookmarkedwithchris (Review)

Josh Whitworth (Review)

December 1st

Breakeven Books (Excerpt)

@a.p.reading (Review)

@love2dazzle (Review)

Rambling Mads (Review)

Sophril Reads (Review)

December 2nd

@pillowreader (Review)

Ity Reads Books (Review)

@my_fantasy_bookshelf (Review)

@DreaminginPages (Review)

@myyorkshirelitmosphere (Review)

Ma Book Yard (Review)

December 3rd

Dark Whimsical Art (Excerpt)

MyBookishLifeTime (Review)

J Bronder Book Reviews (Review)

Jessica Belmont (Review)

@thecrookedhouse (Review)

Book Tour Organized By:

R&R Button

I would like to thank R&R Book Tours for the opportunity to read and share this book.

 

Bones of the Redeemed

 

 

Join us for this tour from Nov 9 to Dec 4, 2020!

Book Details:

Book Title: Bones of the Redeemed (A Southwestern Mystery) by Kari Bovee
Category:  Adult Fiction (18 + yrs), 298 pages
Genre:  Historical Mystery (1952)
Publisher:  Bosque Publishing
Release date:  November 2020
Content Rating:  R for abuse, does contain the f-word a few times,

Book Description:

A pit of corpses. An ancient cult. A quest for redemption that could leave her dead… New Mexico, 1952. Archaeology grad student Ruby Delgado is plagued by guilt after losing her son. So when her latest excavation drops her down a sinkhole filled with suspiciously mutilated bodies, she’s driven to bring the murderer to justice. But when digging deeper brings her dangerously close to a sinister religious sect, she could be their next sacrifice… Discovering some of the victims were crucified, Ruby pushes hard to give the evidence to the authorities. But when her trail crosses the path of a beaten man left for dead in the desert, she realizes she may be the only person who can save the community. Can Ruby stop the sacrifices and slay her inner demons, or will hers be the next body laid to rest? Bones of the Redeemed is a hair-raising standalone Southwestern mystery. If you like complex heroines, cult conflict, and hard-won redemption, then you’ll love Kari Bovee’s grisly tale.

Buy the Book:

Amazon     Barnes and Noble


Add to Goodreads
Meet the Author:When she’s not on a horse, or walking along the beautiful cottonwood-laden acequias of Corrales, New Mexico; or basking on white sand beaches under the Big Island Hawaiian sun, Kari Bovee is escaping into the past—scheming murder and mayhem for her characters both real and imagined, and helping them to find order in the chaos of her action-packed novels. Empowered women in history, horses, unconventional characters, and real-life historical events fill the pages of Kari Bovée’s articles and historical mystery musings and manuscripts. An award-winning author, Bovée was honored with the 2019 NM/AZ Book Awards Hillerman Award for Southwestern Fiction for her novel Girl with a Gun. The novel also received First Place in the 2019 NM/AZ Book Awards in the Mystery/Crime category, and is a Finalist in the 2019 International Chanticleer Murder & Mayhem Awards and the International Chanticleer Goethe Awards, as well as the Next Generation Indie Awards. Her novel
Grace in the Wings is a Finalist for the 2019 International Chanticleer Chatelaine Awards and the International Chanticleer Goethe Awards. Her novel Peccadillo at the Palace is a Finalist in the 2019 International Chanticleer Murder & Mayhem Awards and the 2019 International Goethe Awards, as well as a Finalist in the 2019 Best Book Awards Historical Fiction category. Bovée has worked as a technical writer for a Fortune 500 Company, has written non-fiction for magazines and newsletters, and has worked in the education field as a teacher and educational consultant. She and her husband, Kevin, spend their time between their horse property in the beautiful Land of Enchantment, New Mexico, and their condo on the sunny shores of Kailua-Kona, Hawaii.

Connect with the author:  Website ~ Goodreads ~ Facebook ~ Twitter ~ Instagram ~ Pinterest

Author Interview

  • Please tell us how you came to be a writer.

I’ve been writing stories for as long as I can remember. When I was seven years old I got a toy typewriter for Christmas. Although it was a toy, it still worked and I banged away on it for as long as it held up. Then in middle school and high school I started journaling and writing poetry. I majored in English Lit in college, so there was a lot of writing involved with my major. I finished as much of my required coursework early so I could focus on writing exclusively my senior year. I took three independent studies with three of my favorite professors. One was in short story writing, one in playwriting, and one in screenwriting.

I wrote my first novel right out of college, but it was sort of an experiment and that book will never see the light of day! After my first child was born I started my second and third novels – real attempts this time. The third novel got me my first agent. We worked together for a couple of years getting it just right, but then he left the agency. I was heart-broken. The agency assigned me to someone else, but she just didn’t have the passion for my work as the first agent. The book didn’t sell, and I became a very busy mommy. I put my novel writing on hold for about a decade and a half, and started back up when our youngest was a junior in high school. I’ve been working on novels ever since. I can’t imagine not writing now.

  • How did you do research for your book?

The research for this book started long ago. So long ago, I forgot where exactly I got some of the information. My late father, who was such an inspiration to me, told me about the Penitente Brotherhood, a lay confraternity of Spanish-American Roman Catholic men who are active in New Mexico and Colorado. Bones of the Redeemed is very loosely inspired by this brotherhood, but takes their practices quite a bit farther. My book poses the question of what might happen if leadership in one of these types of organizations went off the rails—which, as we know can happen in deeply religious communities.

I did a lot of reading on the Brotherhood, and I also interviewed a couple of Catholic priests, one whose father and some of his brothers were members of the Penitente Brotherhood here in New Mexico.

For the archaeology aspect of the book, I actually took some graduate courses in anthropology and archaeology at Millsap’s College in Jackson, Mississippi when I lived there. I had a very early draft of the novel and I asked my professor to read it. He helped me tweak where necessary. More recently, I have a friend who is a retired archaeologist and she reviewed the book for me as well.

  • What is your favorite non-reading activity?

Horses have been a part of my life since I was about ten years old. I feel such a connection with them. Aside from college and my early married life, I’ve always had at least one horse, and I’ve had up to seven at one time. Right now, I have four, and they have a forever home with me. One of them is completely retired, and she is just a pasture ornament, but I ride the other three. I used to compete, but now I just enjoying being around them. I’ve been practicing Natural Horsemanship for the last decade, and I keep learning that I have so much more to learn! It’s very similar to writing that way.

  • Do you believe you write the kind of book you’d want to read?

Absolutely. I believe that if a writer is not completely invested and interested in what they are writing, no one else will be. Writing a novel is hard enough! If there wasn’t enjoyment in the challenge and process, I don’t think it would be worth doing, at least for me.

  • What is the best compliment a reader has ever given you?

My favorite compliments go something like this: “I loved your book so much. It was so interesting! I had no idea that (fill in the blank) happened, or that (character from real life) did that, so I had to go look it up myself and find out more about it, or her, or him.”

I love when I have inspired someone to dig deeper, educate themselves more, or to unlock an area of interest for the reader that they never knew they had. It’s like I’ve created an instant connection with that person and we have something in common. It’s that feeling of being in conversation with someone and you both keep saying, “I know! Right?” It’s so fun.

  • As an author – what do you enjoy most about writing process? What feels like a chore?

It’s really fun for me to create a world and characters from my imagination. When I taught middle school I used to tell my students that when you write, you can be or do anything you want. It’s really so liberating. I also enjoy when I get into the zone and the words just tumble out. Characters will do and say things I never expected and then I find myself saying, “How interesting! Now, what am I going to do with that?” It’s always fun and always a challenge. The chore part, if you could call it that, is all of the publicity, promotion, and marketing that come along with the author’s life. That part alone could be a full-time job in itself, and it takes me away from what I really love which is living inside my stories. However, it is a necessity and it can be fun in its own way. It gives me the opportunity to interact with readers and get to know people I never would have known if I wasn’t an author. So there’s definitely an upside to being a business person as well as an author.

My Review

4 Stars

It is 1952 in New Mexico. Ruby Delgado had a little bit of fame with an archeology discovery but now is working on a scholarship and is very excited to work with Dr. Yates on an Anasazi dig. They are looking for the burial ground but Ruby falls into a burial of bodies that are fresher. She is helped by a team member, Pete but he doesn’t want her to report finding the bodies.

What follows is an adventure as Ruby and Pete try to solve the mystery of the dead bodies and those that have gone missing in the last several years, Pete’s brother included. Ruby has a personal loss that is affecting her also, but she is quick to help Pete to find the truth.

This is a great little mystery. I was sucked in right from the beginning; I mean how can you not get into the story when the main character falls into a cavern of bodies? There are plenty of twists and turns to keep you guessing. Ruby has a lot going for her, She is a woman in a man’s field and has a whole lot of baggage that she is dealing with. But this is makes her a stronger character.

This was a good read and one that I recommend if you like mysteries. I think you will enjoy it.

I received a complimentary copy of this book. I voluntarily chose to read and post an honest review.

Tour Schedule:
Nov 9 – Locks, Hooks and Books – book review / giveaway
Nov 9 – Elizabeth McKenna – Author – book spotlight
Nov 10 – Working Mommy Journal – book review / giveaway
Nov 12 – Jazzy Book Reviews – book spotlight / author interview / giveaway
Nov 12 – _Fan_of_Books_ – book review
Nov 16 – 100 Pages A Day – book review / giveaway
Nov 17 – Literary Flits – book review / giveaway
Nov 18 – PuzzlePaws Blog – book review / giveaway
Nov 18 – Books and Zebras @jypsylynn – book review / giveaway
Nov 19 – She Just Loves Books – book review / giveaway
Nov 23 – I’m Into Books – book spotlight / giveaway
Nov 23 – Splashes of Joy – book review / author interview / giveaway
Nov 24 – Stephanie Jane – book spotlight / giveaway
Nov 24 – Leels Loves Books – book review / giveaway
Nov 25 – Bigreadersite – book review / giveaway
Nov 25 – 411 ON BOOKS, AUTHORS, AND PUBLISHING NEWS – book spotlight / author interview / giveaway
Nov 26 – Olio by Marilyn – book review / giveaway
Nov 27 – JBronder Book Reviews – book review / author interview
Nov 30 – Rajiv’s Reviews – book review / giveaway
Nov 30 – Sadie’s Spotlight – book spotlight / giveaway
Dec 1 – Pine Enshrined Reviews – book spotlight / author interview / giveaway
Dec 2 – Celticlady’s Reviews – book spotlight / giveaway
Dec 3 – Library of Clean Reads – book review / giveaway
Dec 4 – Adventurous Jessy – book review / giveaway
Dec 4 – High Society Book Reviews – book review / giveaway
Enter for your chance to win a Signed copy of BONES OF THE REDEEMED plus $100 Amazon Gift Card (USA only)

a Rafflecopter giveaway

I would like to thank iRead Book Tours for the opportunity to be part of this tour and share this book.

Join Us for this Tour from Oct 30 to Nov 20, 2020!

Book Details:
Book Title Braidy Von Althuis and the Final Fight (Book 5) by Cassidy Dwelis
Book Series: Braidy Von Althuis
Category Middle-Grade Fiction (Ages 8-12), 252 pages
Genre Paranormal
Publisher Precursor Publishing
Release dates:   October 2020
Content Rating: PG:
Some mild profanity and some mild magical violence

Book Description:
“Your husband willingly signed over his life to Azra. Boris owes Azra his life and services. There’s nothing more to it than that.” Braidy von Althuis is going to get his father back, no matter the consequences. Mr. von Althuis has been abducted by Azra, Queen of Djinn, and the family is in shambles. Half of the von Althuises no longer have their magick, and an army of djinn awaits them at Azra’s gates. Somehow, despite all of the odds, Mrs. von Althuis, Uncle Rolo, Aunt
Liz, Blockhead, and Braidy have to band together to retrieve Braidy’s father from the clutches of certain doom.Even though they hate each other, Braidy is determined to pull the fae and djinn together to fight against Azra’s tyranny. He will have to work with old friends, and old enemies, to finally end the war between djinn and fae that has come to a nasty head. Will Braidy be able to unite an army at his back and save his father, or will Mr. von Althuis belong to Azra forever? Braidy von Althuis and the Final Fight is a story about working past differences, justice, and morality. This book is suitable for children aged 8 – 11.

Buy the Book:
Amazon     Barnes and Noble

My Review

5 Stars

Mr. von Althuis is has bound himself to the Djinn queen Azra, Gran is gone, and Aunt Liz is no longer a fairy. What are three humans, a ghost, and Blockhead going to do? They are going to come together and do whatever it takes to save Mr. von Althuis.

Braidy and his mother will brave the Fairyland to bring back the one person that has enough power to fight Azra. But don’t discount anyone else, Blockhead finally embraces magic to help fight too.

Braidy and his family have come so far since I read about the Pesky Pest Controller. Things look dire and I didn’t know if they would be able to save Mr. von Althuis and everyone else. But Braidy and his mother are stronger than the fairy’s and jinn think. Braidy is especially clever even though he is only ten years old.

I love how this mixed family loves each other although they are so different. And in the end Braidy finds the perfect solution to solve all the fighting. I loved it!!

This is a wonderful series but I do recommend reading it in order. I just had the first book and this one and was very lost; it would have been easier to understand with the middle three books. Mind you that just means that I will be getting them shortly to find out what I missed.

I received a complimentary copy of this book. I voluntarily chose to read and post an honest review.

You Should Also Check Out These Earlier Books:

 

Book Details:

Book Title Braidy Von Althuis and the Pesky Pest Controller (Book 1) by Cassidy Dwelis
Book Series: Braidy Von Althuis
Category Middle-Grade Fiction (Ages 8-12), 320 pages
Genre Paranormal
Publisher Precursor Publishing
Release dates:   May 2017
Content Rating: PG:
Some mild profanity and some mild magical violence

Book Description:
Ten-year-old Braidy von Althuis just wants one thing: to fit in. The other kids at school think he’s weird, and for good reason. Despite his oddities, Braidy wants more than anything for his dad to be able to come to Township Day, a fun-filled event at school, but Mr. von Althuis refuses. “It’s too dangerous,” he says.Things change for Braidy when Mr. von Althuis gets sick, and, even worse, this pesky pest controller won’t leave Braidy alone! Will Braidy be able to get his family to Township Day without his world falling apart?Braidy von Althuis and the Pesky Pest Controller is a tale of friendship, family, magic, and mayhem that takes a look at what it means to be bullied and how to rise above it. This book is suitable for children aged 8 – 11.

Buy the Book:
Amazon     Barnes and Noble
Add to Goodreads

 

Book Details:

Book Title Braidy Von Althuis and the Gullible Ghost Hunter (Book 2) by Cassidy Dwelis

Book Series: Braidy Von Althuis

Category Middle-Grade Fiction (Ages 8-12), 241 pages

Genre Paranormal

Publisher Precursor Publishing

Release dates:   March 2018

Content Rating: PG:
Some mild profanity and some mild magical violence 

Book Description:

“Braidy felt a churning cauldron of fear stirring in his stomach. Uncle Rolo had the habit of destroying good things.”Ten-year-old Braidy von Althuis finally has what he needs: a good friend, Saturday-Morning cartoons, and a loving family. While life has been perfect since Braidy defeated the warlock that attempted to kidnap his father, Braidy knows the quiet will not last. Strangeness creeps through Maple Hills, especially since a ghost hunter moved into town.This ghost hunter has Braidy’s dead Uncle Rolo worried sick, but Braidy’s family thinks the newcomer in town is harmless. Braidy feels otherwise, and to make matters worse, a friend from Uncle Rolo’s past comes to call. Will Uncle Rolo follow the rules and stay safe, or will Braidy watch his uncle tear their family apart? Braidy von Althuis and the Gullible Ghost Hunter is a story about telling the truth, taking responsibility, and what it means to be a family.This book is suitable for children aged 8 – 11.

 Buy the Book:
Amazon     Barnes and Noble
Add to Goodreads

Book Details:

Book Title Braidy Von Althuis and the Dastardly Djinn (Book 3) by Cassidy Dwelis
Book Series: Braidy Von Althuis
Category Middle-Grade Fiction (Ages 8-12), 210 pages
Genre Paranormal
Publisher Precursor Publishing
Release dates:   October 2018
Content Rating: PG:
Some mild profanity and some mild magical violence
 

Book Description:

“He should have known this would happen. Wishes in movies and books seemed to go bad, so why would this one be any different?” Ten-year-old Braidy von Althuis misses his family dearly. Ever since his father, his aunt, and his uncle went to look for Gran in Europe, the house has been quiet and lonely. Even worse, Braidy’s cousin Blockhead is miserable after a breakup. Braidy wishes more than anything that he could do something to make his cousin happy.His wish is granted by a mysterious djinni, but the wish does not solve all his problems. Something is wrong with Blockhead, and Braidy learns a dark secret about his family that changes everything he knew. Will Braidy and Blockhead be able to undo the djinni wish, or will Braidy spark a war that may change the world as he knows it?Braidy von Althuis and the Dastardly Djinn is a story about identity, self-worth, consent, and responsibility. This book is suitable for children aged 8 – 11.

 Buy the Book:
Amazon     Barnes and Noble
Add to Goodreads

Book Details:

Book Title Braidy Von Althuis and the Changeling Children (Book 4) by Cassidy Dwelis
Book Series: Braidy Von Althuis
Category Middle-Grade Fiction (Ages 8-12), 249 pages
Genre Paranormal
Publisher Precursor Publishing
Release dates:   October 2019
Content Rating: PG:
Some mild profanity and some mild magical violence

Book Description:

” All of the regret that she buried in her garden in America will grow up like weeds and swallow her like quicksand.” Braidy von Althuis is celebrating his eleventh birthday, but not with his best friend. Mr. von Althuis has decided to move the family out of Maple Hills, and Braidy is forced to say goodbye to Kara and to eat his cake alone. Even though the von Althuises have lived in Maple Hills for hundreds of years, something has spooked the adults so badly that they feel helpless without Gran. Something is coming for them, though Braidy knows not who or what.When the family arrives in Ukraine, a whole slew of new problems arise. Mr. von Althuis gets a job, Uncle Rolo finds himself in more trouble, and Aunt Liz and Braidy are summoned to an audience with the Fairy King. In order to go home, Braidy and Aunt Liz must solve riddles or belong to the Fairy King forever. Will Braidy and Aunt Liz be able to escape the Fairy King’s clutches or will heartache and memories of a life long gone tear Aunt Liz and Braidy apart? This book is suitable for children aged 8 – 11.

Buy the Book:
Amazon
Add to Goodreads

 

Meet the Author:
I’m Cassidy, and I love storytelling! I’m incredibly passionate about writing, art, and anything that allows me to create my own worlds. My goal is to write dreamy fiction for all ages that is unique, inspiring, and imaginative. I want my books to instill wonderment in the reader. I like to write about themes that include coming of age, magic realism, identity, relationships, and bullying. My books are intended for readers ages eight to twenty-five, and are meant to connect the world of the fantastical to everyday life. I currently live in Colorado and just got my MA in Publishing!Connect with the author:  website ~ twitter ~ facebook ~ instagram ~ goodreads

Guest Post

One of the most wonderful things about the human existence is that we each live a unique truth that is indescribable to anyone else. It is the sonder of day to day life, knowing that each random passerby is living a life as vivid and complex as your own. In other words, everyone has a story.

The Telling of Truth is a Writer’s Highest Honor

Truth is the heart of stories. Without truth, a story has no backbone. Every legend, every fairytale, every myth is meant to impart some lesson. Stories were invented by man to pass down to others in an attempt to make other humans’ lives easier, and it is one of my favorite parts about being a writer. There are many of us who have had shared experiences, and my goal is to give someone an a-ha moment while reading my books.

“Oh, they went through that, too? I’m not alone.”

I’m not alone.

That’s the most important bit of it, isn’t it? As a writer, I weave bits of fiction into fact, and relay experiences that have deeply shaped my life.

The High Point of my Writing Career

Every time I get a review that mentions that one of my characters touched the reader, I have successfully done my job. Each of those reviews becomes the new high point of my career. Whether it be because I included a character that speaks someone’s home language or because they have a disability, knowing that I touched someone and that they related to what I wrote means the world to me.

Every book I publish I hope to use to let someone know that they are seen, heard, and valued. By weaving my own truth into my books, I help others realize that they are less alone in this large and crazy world.

Tour Schedule:
Oct 30 – Rockin’ Book Reviews – book review of Braidy Von Althuis and the Gullible Ghost Hunter / guest post / giveaway
Oct 30 – Locks, Hooks and Books – book review of Braidy Von Althuis and the Pesky Pest Controller / author interview / giveaway
Oct 30 – Working Mommy Journal – book review of Braidy Von Althuis and the Changeling Children / giveaway
Nov 2 – Rockin’ Book Reviews – book review of Braidy Von Althuis and the Final Fight / giveaway
No 2 – Lisa-Queen of Random – book spotlight / author interview / giveaway
Nov 3 – Book Corner News and Reviews – book review of Braidy Von Althuis and the Gullible Ghost Hunter / giveaway
Nov 3 – Locks, Hooks and Books – book review of Braidy Von Althuis and the Final Fight / giveaway
Nov 4 – Book Corner News and Reviews – book review of Braidy Von Althuis and the Final Fight / giveaway
Nov 4 – Rajiv’s Reviews – book review of Braidy Von Althuis and the Pesky Pest Controller / giveaway
Nov 5 –  Working Mommy Journal – book review of Braidy Von Althuis and the Final Fight / giveaway
Nov 6 – Jazzy Book Reviews – book spotlight / author interview / giveaway
Nov 9 – Book Bustle – book review of Braidy Von Althuis and the Pesky Pest Controller / guest post / giveaway
Nov 10 – Leels Loves Books – book review of Braidy Von Althuis and the Gullible Ghost Hunter / giveaway
Nov 11 – Rajiv’s Reviews – book review of Braidy Von Althuis and the Final Fight / giveaway
Nov 12 – Book Bustle – book review of Braidy Von Althuis and the Final Fight / giveaway
Nov 13 – JBronder Book Reviews – book review of Braidy Von Althuis and the Pesky Pest Controller / giveaway
Nov 16 – Leels Loves Books – book review of Braidy Von Althuis and the Final Fight / giveaway
Nov 17 – Books and Zebras @jypsylynn – book review of Braidy Von Althuis and the Changeling Children / giveaway
Nov 18 – – JBronder Book Reviews – book review of Braidy Von Althuis and the Final Fight / guest post / giveaway
Nov 19 – Books and Zebras @jypsylynn – book review of Braidy Von Althuis and the Final Fight / giveaway
Nov 20 – DZA Blog – book spotlight / guest post / giveaway

 

Enter the Giveaway:

Enter for your chance to win a Complete signed set of Braidy Von Althuis series with Customized Teas (USA only)

a Rafflecopter giveaway

 

I would like to thank iRead Book Tours for the opportunity to read and share this book.

Book Title Braidy Von Althuis and the Pesky Pest Controller (Book 1) by Cassidy Dwelis
Book Series: Braidy Von Althuis
Category Middle-Grade Fiction (Ages 8-12), 320 pages
Genre Paranormal
Publisher Precursor Publishing
Release dates:   May 2017
Content Rating: PG:
Some mild profanity and some mild magical violence

Book Description:
Ten-year-old Braidy von Althuis just wants one thing: to fit in. The other kids at school think he’s weird, and for good reason. Despite his oddities, Braidy wants more than anything for his dad to be able to come to Township Day, a fun-filled event at school, but Mr. von Althuis refuses. “It’s too dangerous,” he says.Things change for Braidy when Mr. von Althuis gets sick, and, even worse, this pesky pest controller won’t leave Braidy alone! Will Braidy be able to get his family to Township Day without his world falling apart?Braidy von Althuis and the Pesky Pest Controller is a tale of friendship, family, magic, and mayhem that takes a look at what it means to be bullied and how to rise above it. This book is suitable for children aged 8 – 11.

Buy the Book:
Amazon     Barnes and Noble
Add to Goodreads

 

 

Meet the Author:
I’m Cassidy, and I love storytelling! I’m incredibly passionate about writing, art, and anything that allows me to create my own worlds. My goal is to write dreamy fiction for all ages that is unique, inspiring, and imaginative. I want my books to instill wonderment in the reader. I like to write about themes that include coming of age, magic realism, identity, relationships, and bullying. My books are intended for readers ages eight to twenty-five, and are meant to connect the world of the fantastical to everyday life. I currently live in Colorado and just got my MA in Publishing!connect with the author:  website ~ twitter ~ facebook ~ instagram ~ goodreads
 
My Review
4 Stars

Braidy von Althuis is ten years old and just wants to fit in. But it is hard when you wear old hand me down clothes that make you stand out in school. It’s even harder when you talk about your father and family but the only two people that are seen are his mother and aunt. This makes him a huge target to the bullies. The school has decided to hold Township Day to help the children create a store and sell things.

Braidy wants nothing more than for his father and the rest of his family to come but it is too dangerous. His father is not really from this realm, his uncle is a ghost, and his grandmother is a puppet. Needless to say they won’t instill trust with the rest of the humans. But there is more going on than just this. His father is having episodes that are getting more and more dangerous. Braidy is in for the start of a great adventure.

I really enjoyed this book. It did take me a little while to figure out who and what everyone in Braidy’s family was. I loved how this group of people has come together and so loving to everyone, in their own way. That goes to show you that no matter how different you are you are still loved.

This is a great story that will appeal to any mid grade reader to adult. I can’t wait to read more about this family. Luckily I do have the last book in the series but I will definitely be playing catch up with the three book in between.

I received a complimentary copy of this book. I voluntarily chose to read and post an honest review.

Tour Schedule:
Oct 30 – Rockin’ Book Reviews – book review of Braidy Von Althuis and the Gullible Ghost Hunter / guest post / giveaway
Oct 30 – Locks, Hooks and Books – book review of Braidy Von Althuis and the Pesky Pest Controller / author interview / giveaway
Oct 30 – Working Mommy Journal – book review of Braidy Von Althuis and the Changeling Children / giveaway
Nov 2 – Rockin’ Book Reviews – book review of Braidy Von Althuis and the Final Fight / giveaway
No 2 – Lisa-Queen of Random – book spotlight / author interview / giveaway
Nov 3 – Book Corner News and Reviews – book review of Braidy Von Althuis and the Gullible Ghost Hunter / giveaway
Nov 3 – Locks, Hooks and Books – book review of Braidy Von Althuis and the Final Fight / giveaway
Nov 4 – Book Corner News and Reviews – book review of Braidy Von Althuis and the Final Fight / giveaway
Nov 4 – Rajiv’s Reviews – book review of Braidy Von Althuis and the Pesky Pest Controller / giveaway
Nov 5 –  Working Mommy Journal – book review of Braidy Von Althuis and the Final Fight / giveaway
Nov 6 – Jazzy Book Reviews – book spotlight / author interview / giveaway
Nov 9 – Book Bustle – book review of Braidy Von Althuis and the Pesky Pest Controller / guest post / giveaway
Nov 10 – Leels Loves Books – book review of Braidy Von Althuis and the Gullible Ghost Hunter / giveaway
Nov 11 – Rajiv’s Reviews – book review of Braidy Von Althuis and the Final Fight / giveaway
Nov 12 – Book Bustle – book review of Braidy Von Althuis and the Final Fight / giveaway
Nov 13 – JBronder Book Reviews – book review of Braidy Von Althuis and the Pesky Pest Controller / giveaway
Nov 16 – Leels Loves Books – book review of Braidy Von Althuis and the Final Fight / giveaway
Nov 17 – Books and Zebras @jypsylynn – book review of Braidy Von Althuis and the Changeling Children / giveaway
Nov 18 – – JBronder Book Reviews – book review of Braidy Von Althuis and the Final Fight / guest post / giveaway
Nov 19 – Books and Zebras @jypsylynn – book review of Braidy Von Althuis and the Final Fight / giveaway
Nov 20 – DZA Blog – book spotlight / guest post / giveaway

Enter the Giveaway:

Enter for your chance to win a Complete signed set of Braidy Von Althuis series with Customized Teas (USA only)

a Rafflecopter giveaway

 

I would like to thank iRead Book Tours for the opportunity to read and share this book.

Undead Ultra Series

Undead Ultra Series

44555825. sy475

Dorm Life (Undead Ultra – 2) by Camille Picott

How do you survive the apocalypse when the only things your companions care about are pot, video games, and beer?
This is the predicament Kate finds herself in after running two hundred miles to find her son.

Holed up in a dorm with Carter and his friends, she is surrounded by college kids who have no interest in gathering supplies, fortifying their home, or even taking out the trash.

Resources are scarce. Zombies are everywhere. Survivors prey on the weak.

Feet have become the only reliable form of transportation. Kate knows this better than anyone. When you move, you need to be quiet, and you need to be quick.

Kate needs to get her kids in shape. She needs to get their minds out of the Xbox and into the apocalypse. If she can’t, none of them will survive.

Amazon     Goodreads

My Review

5 stars

Carter is attending Humboldt University and things are going along as normal until students start eating each other at a party. The survivors hole up in one of the dorms. Some go about cleaning up and preparing but most lay around playing video games getting high and waiting for someone to come save them.

Kate finally gets to the school and finds a bunch of college kids that would rather have someone do all the work for them than fighting back. She has her hands full as they all have attitudes and do not believe her. But if they are going to survive it’s time to listen and get off their butts or else they will be zombie food.

I really enjoyed reading Undead Ultra. It’s a great zombie story with the twist of a long-distance run. There might not be the running in this book but there is a lot of getting your poop in a group and getting in shape. I tip my hat to Kate, she has so much patience with those kids. I think I might have left them for zombie food several times.

This is a great zombie series and I recommend checking it out. It is both on kindle and Audible. I love this and can’t wait to see what happens in the next book, Lost Coast.

49190060. sy475

Lost Coast (Undead Ultra – 3) by Camille Picott

What if zombies evolved … and organized?

Out of the ashes of the zombie apocalypse, Kate and her small band of survivors have created a life and become a family. They train together, scavenge together, and survive together.

Their comfortable routine is interrupted by a frantic distress call. When Kate forms a rescue mission, she and her people find themselves faced with the unthinkable: evolved “alpha” zombies capable of organizing hordes of the undead.

Even worse, the alphas are on the move–and they’re headed straight for the university where the survivors have made their home.

Can Kate and her people outwit the alpha zombies and save their home? Or will they become part of the undead horde?

Amazon     Goodreads

My Review

5 stars

Kate’s little family has gone through tough times with zombies and human survivors. But they have managed to keep going despite the odds. But things are changing. It seems that the zombies are evolving. Herds of zombies are being driven by alphas, those that seem to have become smart enough to lead. If that was not bad enough, they are heading right for the university.

I love how this series keeps evolving. Kate has changed from the sad woman that was afraid to be alone to the leader of her little family. The whole group has changed, not always for the best but to help them survive. It makes sense that the zombies would change too. I loved how they started to become smarter, such a change from the continuous ravenous corpses or just falling apart.

This is an amazing zombie series and one that I strongly recommend checking out but make sure you read them in order. You can get the book on both Kindle and Audible. Gwendolyn Druyor does a fantastic job drawing you into the story and keeping you there for the whole ride.

I love this series and can’t wait to get into the next book, Fort Dead.

53240495. sy475

Fort Dead (Undead Ultra – 4) by Camille Picott

No matter how fast they run…
…time is running out.
Can the Creekside Crew reach their friends before it’s too late?

There are some things scarier than zombies.
For the people of Fort Ross, it’s the raiders who have arrived on their doorstep.
Kate and her companions are their only hope.
But the road to Fort Ross isn’t easy.
There are wildfires . . .
. . . and intelligent alpha zombies.
Can Kate outmaneuver the alpha zoms and get to Fort Ross before it’s too late?

Amazon     Goodreads

My Review

5 stars

When I first saw the line “No matter how fast they run…time is running out” I could not wait to hop into this story with both feet. Fort Ross is under siege and the Creekside Crew are in a race against zombies and time to get to Ford Ross. They have their hands full and not everyone is going to make it through this battle.

I was glad to see that Alvarez is back and I hoped that both Kate and he make it through to the end. This is the last book in the series and of course there are those that won’t make it to the end. But the action and battle go on.

There as so much action that I could not put this book down. I mean you have a crazy drug dealer on one side and alpha zombies on the other. Talk about being stuck between a rock and a hard place!!

I absolutely love this series and recommend checking it out. You can purchase the books on kindle along with the prequel Dawn Patrol. You can also find books 1-3 and the prequel on Audible. I can’t wait to listen to Fort Dead on audiobook. I am now a big fan of Camille Picott and can’t wait to read anything else she has.

About the Author

Camille Picott has been writing Stories from the End of the World since she figured out how to turn on her family’s Apple IIe computer and wrangle a floppy disk into the drive. She loves nothing more than penning an epic action scene or pushing a character to her limits.

Her books, which range from zombie apocalypse, YA dystopia, and epic fantasy, are all Stories from the End of the World. There’s no fun in writing a story if the stakes aren’t high and the fate of the world isn’t in jeopardy.

When Camille isn’t writing or spending time with her family, she loves to run absurdly long distances. It’s not unusual to find her hitting the trail in her running shoes long before the sun rises or cranking out miles (and stories!) on her treadmill desk.

Website     Facebook     Instagram     YouTube

A while ago I was in a book tour for the Undead Ultra. This was a great book and you can find my original post with review HERE. I was lucky enough to speak with Camille Picott and she sent me the other four books in the series. I’m happy to say that I’m finally getting the reviews posted. I hope you will check out this series, it’s a great read.

I would like to thank Camille Picott for the opportunity to share this book.

Limerick Comics

44288002. sx318

Limerick Comics by Robert Hoyman

Limerick Comics offers original limericks on a wide range of history and science topics, each with an informational panel of surprising facts, presented in entertaining comics. Young readers age 8 and up are invited to linger on each page to enjoy the humor, ponder inferences, and view the evocative details of each illustrated panel.

Amazon     Barnes & Noble     Goodreads

Robert Hoyman

About the Author

Robert Hoyman is a graduate of the University of South Florida in Tampa. His journey as a classroom teacher spanned 41 years teaching in private and public schools in Florida, California, and Virginia. Limerick Comics is his debut book. He is a member of SCBWI.

Website

My Reveiw

5 Stars

This is a wonderful collection of twenty-nine limericks. Each limerick was a wonderful illustration and a section of notes to further explain the history and science behind the limericks. You will learn about jesters, ants, and the Titan and Titanic. Although I think my favorite was a canine ballet. There is also a little glossary of term in the back of the book for additional information.

I really enjoyed this book. It’s a fun way to teach children limericks and has some wonderful illustrations that help add to them. I loved the history and science. I even learned some things as I read the book.

Limerick Comics would be a wonderful way to introduce reading and thinking outside the box to children. Although as an adult I was even learning things.

I received a complimentary copy of this book. I voluntarily chose to read and post an honest review.

 

I would like to thank Sherri Rosen Publicity for the opportunity to read and share this book.

Beyond Relatively Normal

YA fantasy

Date Published: January 21, 2020

photo add-to-goodreads-button_zpsc7b3c634.png

Jack Galloway has had enough of life and is chasing a high he just can’t seem to find. Upon meeting with a drug dealer from his school, he is given some mysterious, bean-shaped pills that just so happen to be nothing but beans. However, Relatively Normal beans do not grow miles and miles into the sky overnight, drawing attention from everyone around and destroying the very idea of reality on Earth.

Now, in order to restore his Relatively Normal world, Jack must embark on a mission with a girl he barely knows from high school, Red Crawford, who just so happens to be the only one he knows who has encountered a tear in the non-magical reality they live in.

The beanstalk, too tall and too wide to climb, leads them down a rabbit hole to the strange and nonsensical Underland, where they must go through insane trials in order to reach the answer to their problems — the Giants, magical creatures who live in Overland and can rid the Relatively Normal world of that pesky beanstalk. However, the beanstalk and its effects on reality might just be the least of their worries when they reach the dark, mysterious Overland.

 

Amazon     Goodreads

 

About the Author

Mikaela Miller has not exactly found her place in the world yet, and she’s still trying to understand herself, so there’s not much to say. She loves writing, memes, her friends, and her fur children. She is currently living the small town life but has high hopes of moving to a big city to live out her dreams one day. She loves the darker side of all fairytales and has recently discovered a love for horror novels. This book idea came to her in a dream, as many of her strange ideas do, and she hopes for a bright future as she delves further into her characters’ lives. One day, she would like to be able to rescue lots of homeless animals and be the crazy old cat lady down the street.

Facebook     Twitter     Goodreads     Instagram

My Review

4 Stars

Jack Galloway has a rough life with an abusive mother. To escape he has started drinking and doing drugs. Then one day his dealer gives him something new and he is out of it when fellow classmate Red Crawford tries to help him, and they discover Red’s Grandmother is no longer the woman she knew.

This is the beginning of a dark fairytale adventure that has a giant bean stalk growing in Jack’s back yard. Jack and Red go down the rabbit ho lei search of a way to get rid of the bean stalk and to keep the realms next to Relatively Normal from opening.

What follows is a journey through Wonderland and Neverland but this is no Disney journey. It is filled with dark characters that want to do some serious harm to jack and Red. I felt for Jack, he has never thought of Red as a real friend, but he is racked with guilt because he feels he conned her from going on this journey with him.

This was a good read. I felt for Jack with everything going on with him. I was really curious about Red and was not disappointed. Of course, I fell in love with the Wonderland portion of the book, I’m such a huge fan of Alice in Wonderland and this was what I really think of when I think of traveling through. Neverland was just the same way although I’m not really familiar with Peter Pan.

This is a great story and an excellent beginning to the series. I can’t wait to read more of this series.

I received a complimentary copy of this book. I voluntarily chose to read and post an honest review.

Enter for your chance to win a $20 Amazon Gift Card

a Rafflecopter giveaway
https://widget-prime.rafflecopter.com/launch.js

RABT Book Tours & PR
I would like to thank RABT Book Tours and PR for the opportunity to read and share this book.