Feeds:
Posts
Comments

When Fire Rains Down

Banner

I am so pleased to share this stunning cover with you all today, and the story beneath is even better!

When Fire Rains Down Front Cover

When Fire Rains Down: A Kingdom Come Novel (Book #3)

Author: Cecelia Earl

Release Date: July 27, 2018

Genre: YA/ Paranormal/ Urban Fantasy

Synopsis:

The little town of Shady Creek is under attack by Lucifer and his demons. To save the people she loves, human-angel Hybrid Julia must rescue their kidnapped Guardian Angels, even when it means defying her father.

Trouble is, he knows only too much about Hell’s perils. When a demon sucks Julia into a cosmic vacuum, the experience leaves an indelible blight she dares not mention for fear of losing her place on the angelic rescue team.

As a growing demon army surrounds Shady Creek, Julia’s feelings for her own Guardian become all too real and dangerous. But the cosmic imbalance fueled by Hybrid Angels, Rogue Guardians and Warriors is already depleting the strength of the Rescue Team. And there’s no room for distraction when the mission is to get into Hell—and out again.

For the sake of the mission, Julia must face the truth of the Hybrids’ existence. Because nobody will be safe unless she can trust the gift of free will—for others and for herself—in this end-of-the-world finale to The Legend of Shady Creek Trilogy.

Stay tuned for another trilogy in the Kingdom Come Series: The Stories of Summersby Corner

Add to Goodreads

Available for Pre-Order

eReader Phone Paperback When Fire Rains Down #3

Amazon (US) | Amazon (CA) | Amazon (UK)

Paperback will be available July 27th!

Facebook Party!

The author will be hosting a Facebook cover reveal event today (June 25) with giveaways, trivia, excerpts and more, so be sure to check it out!

Excerpt

“Nicholas can teach you to use the demons’ weapons against them. You may become an expert, the best. Cole and I can get you inside. We can provide detailed descriptions of Hell and instruct you on how to find Tobias and the others, but we were there for months, for years, and we are blessed to miraculously be sitting here before you now.

“There’s a slim chance you’ll get in and an even slimmer chance you’ll get out. Especially with all the Guardians. An attack from the inside out is the only way, but some of the Guardians have been there a long, long time. There’s no telling how beat up they are, and I don’t mean bruised bodies, I mean tortured minds.”

His words are met with a hushed silence.

I expect Nicholas to look defeated, but he rises again, and his voice is as strong as ever. “It will not be easy, and none of us can expect it to be. We’ve all fought demons before, and we know as well as anyone how they can manipulate, deceive, and pervert truths. We know how nearness to them for any short or lengthy period of time can affect the strongest of angels.”

He doesn’t look at Cole when he says this, and Cole doesn’t appear to be offended. I suppose they’re too timeworn and wise to mind obvious truths and overlook what humans might take as a slight.

Dad’s looking at his folded hands, clenching his jaw. I feel bad for him. With what he saw and felt, it’s no wonder he doesn’t want me to go. I want to wrap my arms around him now and put my forehead to his like I did when I was a little girl. I want to remove those memories as much as he wants to save me from experiencing them.

“But in knowing this, I hope we will become stronger, more prepared, more resolute. Even though it is dangerous and will be difficult, knowing what being near Hell does to our Guardians, we have all the more reason to rescue them. I am still all in for this mission. My plan to take a small team in order to get in without detection, accomplish our mission, and get out, stands.

“With so many Guardians in captivity, we cannot simply sneak them out. Our breakout will be catastrophic. It will be an upset. We will go in small, like a whisper, but we will come out shouting in victory.” He pounds on the table. It shakes and the sound echoes throughout the cave. Once it’s quiet, he asks, “Who is with me?”

Stunned, we all sit in silence. But after a moment I realize he is waiting for us, for at least one of us, to respond.

I don’t look at my dad before I rise. “I am with you.”

Other Books in this Trilogy

When Ash Rains Down Cover.jpegWhen Ash Rains Down (Book #1)

Shady Creek gets a whole lot scarier after Julia learns she’s part angel, especially since the only person she can trust is an angel who’s as infuriating as he is attractive.

Julia received a necklace containing the songs of the angels from her dad when she was four. When she was eleven, he abandoned her family and the necklace went silent. At seventeen, Julia’s doing everything she can to maintain security for her family, but now her necklace seems to have come to life once again. And that’s not all that’s changing.

When a robber attempts to steal from their diner, the necklace blazes and burns her chest. Pain in her back is nearly unbearable as the thief transforms before her eyes… into something demonic.

Demon after demon threaten Julia’s home, family, and friends, and she realizes there may have been something more behind her dad’s disappearance. And now there may be something–or someone–dangerous after her.

Julia has to accept that she is not quite human. Will her infuriating but attractive Guardian Angel be able to prepare her for the battle to come?

Add to Goodreads

When Smoke Rains Down Cover.jpegWhen Smoke Rains Down (Book #2)

If only humans knew the invisible danger lurking around them…

In the aftermath of an explosion and Homecoming battle, Julia tries to form some semblance of a routine: work, study, and visit her brother who remains hospitalized. Unable to confide in anyone about her double life of being both human and angel, and fearful she’ll bring more death and destruction to those she loves, she pulls away from her family and best friend.

When demons once again start to show up at every turn, seemingly bringing about her brother’s deepening depression, she demands her sword from Nicholas. Ever the stern Guardian Angel, he forbids her from using it. Isolated, she takes protecting her brother into her own hands. But when demons show they have evils hidden within their weapons in addition to their ability to siphon souls from the living, Julia’s not sure she knows the best way to handle saving him any longer. Especially when ash-colored lines begin to appear on humans, lines of demonic poison that travel through their veins toward their hearts and alter their moods.

Thrust into a dark world of conspiring demons, Julia is in more danger than she ever imagined possible. To stop evil from spreading and overtaking those she loves, she’ll have to seek out the one person she mistrusts most–especially when a line appears on her own arm, and her apathy toward doing much of anything, including saving anyone, grows.

Enter a complex world where humans, demons, and angels collide, all battling to rule the Earth.

Add to Goodreads

About the Author

Author Pic

Cecelia Earl graduated with a degree in education and has been teaching ever since. She’s a wife, a mom of three boys, and an owner of a magical laundry pile that never stops growing. She lives near enough to Green Bay, WI that her refrigerator is always stocked with cheese, and the first colors her children learned were green and gold.

She’s a first grade teacher in a Catholic school by day, a mom always, and a writer in her sleep, but that’s okay because being an author is a dream come true. She writes angel fantasy books for young and youngish adults. If you feel young, she writes for you—whether or not you feel particularly angelic.

Cecelia Earl | Newsletter | Goodreads

Twitter | Facebook | Instagram | Tumblr

Giveaway!!!

ereader-paperback-book-1.png

Win a SIGNED paperback copy of book #1 When Ash Rains Down, including the bonus story Before the Ashes!

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Cover Reveal Organized By:

R&R Button.jpg

R&R Book Tours

Advertisements

In the Grip of It

HTML | Excerpt | In the Grip Of It by Sheena Kamal

In the Grip Of It

by Sheena Kamal

on Tour June 1 – June 30, 2018

Synopsis:

In the Grip Of It by Sheena Kamal

On a surveillance assignment for a child custody case, PI-in-training Nora Watts finds herself ensconced in a small farming community on a beautiful hippie island in the Pacific Northwest, a place with a reputation for being welcoming to outsiders. But when she arrives there, she discovers her welcome quickly wears thin. Perhaps too quickly.

Salt Spring Island, with a history as a refuge for African Americans fleeing the bonds of slavery, is not a place of refuge for her—and, she suspects, may not be for the people who live there, either.

As she investigates, nothing about this remote community seems to add up. It gets personal as Nora confronts her own complicated feelings toward her estranged daughter and becomes increasingly concerned about the child she’s been tasked to surveil. She discovers that small, idyllic communities can hide very big secrets.

Book Details:

Genre: Thriller
Published by: Witness Impulse
Publication Date: May 15th 2018
Number of Pages: 96
ISBN: 0062879324 (ISBN13: 9780062879325)
Series: Nora Watts #1.5
Grab Your Copy of In the Grip Of It: Amazon | Barnes & Noble | Goodreads

 

Read an excerpt:

Last week a man came into our PI office, looked around the shabby interior, frowned, and said, “I must have gotten the address wrong.”

“Depends,” I replied. “What are you looking for?”

“An investigator.”

“Nope, you’re in the right place,” I said, looking at his nice suit, shiny shoes, and expensive watch.

“Are you sure? Maybe I should come back later.”

He was clearly trying to make a graceful exit. Before the man could leave, I got up from behind my desk and opened the door to Leo Krushnik’s office. “Leo, there’s someone here to see you.”

“Well,” said the man, who was hesitating behind me, “I’m not really sure that this is the right fit for me.” He was trying to be diplomatic about the condition of our office and what it might say about his own level of desperation that he was here, but we weren’t about to let a potential client go without a fight. His level of desperation was no match for ours.

Leo Krushnik, the head of our little operation, walked around his desk and beamed at the man. “We’re the right fit for anybody,” he said, grasping the man’s hand and giving it a firm shake. “We prefer to keep our overhead low so that we can offer competitive rates to people who need our services, regardless of their personal incomes. Please, have a seat.”

The man sat, a little overwhelmed by Leo’s charm, which is considerable. That day Leo was dressed in linen pants and a simple cotton shirt, as a nod to the heat wave the city was experiencing. He could pull off this look as easily as he pulled off the lie about our rates. We keep our overhead low because this dump on Hastings Street, in the derelict Downtown Eastside of Vancouver, is all we can afford, but clients didn’t need to know that. And even I could admit that the “competitive rates” line sounded good—even true—coming from Leo.

“How can I help you?” Leo asked.

“My name is Ken Barnes, and I’m concerned about my son, Trevor. My ex-wife Cheyenne moved to Salt Spring last year with Trevor and I think she’s gotten into some kind of trouble there. She won’t bring him back to Vancouver and visitation has been difficult.”

Leo frowned. “Because they’re on an island?” Salt Spring wouldn’t be easy to ferry to and from on a regular basis.

“Yes, but that’s not the only reason. She keeps putting off my visits and it’s been difficult to arrange for Trevor to come into Vancouver. I think . . . I think she’s in some kind of cult, to be honest. They call it a commune, but you know those stories about Bountiful?”

“Yes,” said Leo. Everyone knew the stories about Bountiful, British Columbia, where fundamentalist polygamous communities live and proliferate seemingly freely.

“Well, I think it’s something like that. Cheyenne wants to be in some kind of crazy sex cult, sure. She’s not my wife anymore and I really don’t care what she does. But I’m fighting for custody of Trevor. I want him out of there.”

“And you need some ammo.” Leo looks up from his pad, where he’s been taking notes. “You’ve come to the right place, Ken. We’ve done surveillance work for many child-custody cases.” Another lie, but Ken didn’t notice. We’d only done a handful of those, but “many” is relative. “You understand that this won’t be cheap? We’ll have to get out to the island and spend some time gathering information.”

“That’s fine. There’s nothing I won’t pay to get my son out of there. Cheyenne, she . . . well, she struggled with depression and anxiety for years and she let a lot of toxic people into her life who fed on her struggles. It was like a sick downward spiral. When she started doing yoga and got certified as a teacher, I thought she’d changed. But I’m not sure anymore. I know this sounds terrible—I know it does—but I don’t trust her judgment about the people she lets into her life. Especially men.”

“She married you,” Leo said.

“I know, but this is the thing: it’s not about me and her anymore. We’re done. This is about Trevor—and me doing my part as a father, making sure he’s safe. That he has a good life. I just want results.”

“We can’t guarantee results.” This is the first time I’d spoken since the initial exchange. Ken Barnes’s startled gaze meets mine. He’d clearly forgotten I was there, which was not unusual. “Maybe it is a sex cult, maybe it isn’t. All we can do is take a look and document what we find.”

“I know that nothing is certain, but I know my son deserves a healthy, normal life. Whatever they’re doing on that island is not normal. It just isn’t. It’s one step away from homeschooling, and who’s to say they’re not making him do hard labor?”

What is normal, anyway? I didn’t ask Barnes for clarification. I just kept silent as Leo agreed to take his money in exchange for the work. Before he let Barnes go, he pulled him aside. “Nora’s right, Ken, about any sort of guarantee. But what I can say is that if there’s something to find, chances are we will get a sense of it.”

In the next few days, I started the file on Cheyenne Barnes and looked through the information Ken had provided us. “Cheyenne scrubbed her social-media profiles last year,” he explained to me, over the phone. “I thought she was punishing me by erasing the memories and keeping me away from what’s happening with my son, but now that I think about it, there’s something fishy about this whole thing.” So he kept saying.

Cheyenne is smiling in all the photos, and in every single one there is something wistful about her, a faraway look in her eyes. Something that suggests a romantic nature. She’s an instructor for hot yoga, which I thought was stretching for attractive people but later discovered is actually sweaty stretching. Who knew. She’d gone to Salt Spring Island two years ago to work at a yoga retreat and, according to Ken, never came back. She met a man there, a fellow yoga enthusiast, and rebuffed all of Ken’s attempts at reconciliation.
There is very little to be found on Cheyenne Barnes’s new man. He has no social-media profiles of his own, but I did find a picture of him on the Spring Love website. Some people are so attractive it’s almost surreal, and Vikram Sharma is one of them.

***

Excerpt from In the Grip Of It by Sheena Kamal. Copyright © 2018 by Sheena Kamal. Reproduced with permission from Witness Impulse. All rights reserved.

 

Author Bio:

Sheena Kamal

SHEENA KAMAL holds an HBA in Political Science from the University of Toronto, and was awarded a TD Canada Trust scholarship for community leadership and activism around the issue of homelessness. Her debut novel, The Lost Ones was inspired by this and by Kamal’s most recent work as a researcher into crime and investigative journalism for the film and television industry.

Catch Up With Our Author On:
sheenakamal.com, Goodreads, & Facebook!

My Review

4 stars

Nora Watt is working as an intern in a PI office when Ken Barnes wants someone to look into his ex-wife and her taking his son to a farming community called Spring Love. Ken believes this is a cult. Salt Spring Island has its own history as a refuge for African American escaping slavery. Nora tries to infiltrate the group but the leaders are on to her and are trying to prove that she is a fake.

Nora has put herself in a little trouble trying to find out the truth about Spring Love. But this case reminds herself about her own estranged daughter. She feels a connection and wants to make sure everything is what it seems.

This was a great short story that gave me a great taste of Sheena Kamal’s work. Nora was a great, flawed character but I couldn’t hope that she find out the truth. Of course there are a lot of points for this short story but it all kept me enthralled.

This was the first book that I have read from Sheena Kamal. It was an interesting read and I am curious to learn more about Nora Watts.

I received a complimentary copy of this book. I voluntarily chose to read and post an honest review.

Tour Participants:

Visit these other great hosts on this tour for more great reviews and features!
https://www.linkytools.com/basic_linky_include.aspx?id=286060

Giveaway:

This is a rafflecopter giveaway hosted by Partners in Crime Virtual Book Tours for Sheena Kamal and WitnessImpulse. There will be 10 winners of one (1) print copy of Sheena Kamal’s THE LOST ONES. The giveaway begins on June 1, 2018 and runs through July 1, 2018.
Open to U.S. addresses only. Void where prohibited.

a Rafflecopter giveaway
https://widget-prime.rafflecopter.com/launch.js

Get More Great Reads at Partners In Crime Virtual Book Tours

I would like to thank Partners In Crime Virtual Book Tours for the opportunity to read and share this book.

Raven’s Ghost

Raven’s Ghost
Raven’s Shadow Book 2
by R.L. Weeks
Genre: YA Paranormal Mystery
Award Winning author, R. L. Weeks, brings you Raven’s Ghost – Book Two in
the Young Adult Victorian Paranormal Mystery Series.
Another serial killer is raising hell on the streets of London and Raven
believes it’s all her fault. All the victims have blonde hair and
blue eyes like her, and the killer is none other than her uncle.
His mind had been warped and twisted by heartbreak and betrayal and his
hatred for women is driving him to kill more and more each week.
Raven wants to stop him at all costs. However, there is one big problem
standing in her way. No one can see, hear, or feel her.
With the help of her new friend, Elizabeth, and Emmett who is desperately
trying to contact Raven’s Ghost, can Raven find her way back from the
other side to save the world from the notorious serial killer?
Or will the Shadow Men, drawn back to their world by darkness, fade her
away before she get’s the chance?
My Review

5 stars

Raven Pride lost her father at an early age and we sent to live with her Grandmother. But when she starts seeing things, her Grandmother forbids her to leave the house trying to protect the girl. But what teen would just sit around the house? She does get out every once in a while and meets a young girl that was murdered. Raven starts looking into this and learns that there have been several deaths.

Raven meets two guys, one living and the other dead, that help her investigation and maybe stir her heart at the same time. But things get very complicated when Raven’s cruel uncle takes over running the house.

This is a great story that took me back to the Victorian era with a great paranormal, ghostly twist. I felt for Raven and really wanted the best for her, I mean how hard would it be to have the ability to see the dead especially during that time. I loved the mystery of who was killing the kids. I had some ideas but was always wrong. And her uncle, talk about pure evil!!

I loved this story. Its wells written, drew me in quickly, and left me breathlessly turning the last page. I love how there is a touch of romance but it’s not over done like so many books. I can’t wait to get my hands on a copy of Raven’s Ghost and see what happens to Raven next.

I received a complimentary copy of this book. I voluntarily chose to read and post an honest review.

Raven’s Sight
Raven’s Shadow Book 1
Award Winning author, R. L. Weeks, brings you Raven’s Sight – a Young Adult
Victorian Paranormal Mystery. Book One can be read as a standalone
and as part of the series.
Raven looks out over the small, industrial town of Cogsworth and imagines a
life beyond the confines of her Grandmother’s mansion.
However, Raven holds a dark secret that prevents her from leaving. One which
comes to light after her father’s untimely death. Now an orphan,
Raven must do her best to hide her gifts of sight if she’s to survive
the cruel Victorian society she lives in.
However, when a ghost of a child comes to her for help, Raven finds herself in
the gas lit streets of London, on the trail of a female serial
killer. As she tries to solve the string of murders, she realizes
that the murders are almost identical to those from a case left
unsolved years before she was born.
In a race against time, Raven is thrown into a world she doesn’t know.
With her crush, Tom, now a ghost, her friend, Emmett, now a suspect,
and an uncle who runs illicit groups and hates women, Raven will have
to unravel the mysteries quickly before she becomes their next victim.
R L Weeks is the bestselling and award-winning author of the Dead Loves Life
Series, Bloodlust, The Fallen, Willow Woods Academy for Witches,
Cursed, and the owner of Enchanted Anthologies, publisher of
Fractured Fairytales Books 1 & 2, A Deadly World: Vampires in
Paris, Things Only the Darkness Knows, and Christmas Nightmares.
She lives in a small village in the UK.
When she’s not writing, she’s traveling, reading (paranormal, fantasy and
horror being her go to genres) and designing covers for Dark Wish Designs.
Follow the tour HERE
for exclusive content and a giveaway!
I would like to thank Silver Dagger Book Tours for the opportunity to read and share this book.

Malevolent Sadness

Urban Fantasy

Date Published: June 2017 (Second edition – April 2018)
 photo add-to-goodreads-button_zpsc7b3c634.png
 ***Contains Graphic Violence/Adult Content***
Can a detective save a prophet from a monster?
Harry is an Army veteran who survived a childhood tragedy and tough years in foster care. Today, he’s a pragmatic and no-nonsense Homicide detective investigating the Victor Adamson kidnapping. As he digs for leads, Harry realizes he’s in the middle of a dark conspiracy, and his life is in jeopardy. His only option is to save Victor. But to do that, he must embrace the supernatural. He has to believe monsters are real. If he doesn’t, then both he and Victor may die.
Purchase Links

Amazon    Barnes and Noble    Kobo    iBooks

Excerpts
A new terror nibbled as she caught her reflection in the bathroom mirror. Horror crept down her spine and twisted her guts into knots. She wasn’t smiling, so why was her reflection? And the eyes were wrong. The pupils looked like they were on fire.

***
Through narrow eye slits, he could see her studying his features. Harry found her vigil unsettling. She brushed her cheek against his and made a soft purr. He was offended by her tenderness. If only he could bring himself to full alertness. But with agonizing frustration, he could only lay as still as a corpse and endure her arms around his shoulders, her heart beating against his chest, and the feel of her skin on his face.
Julian Coleman
About the Author
I’m a Paranormal/Supernatural Award Winning author who grew up in Richmond, Virginia. As a child I suffered from night terrors. Sleep paralysis leaves me with the inability to move or speak, but I sometimes see and hear unnatural things. Who wants to have nightmares about demons or ghosts? My nightmare demons aren’t always hideous. To this day, I believe true evil is seductive, even beautiful. I managed to accept my nightmare world by writing about demons who would sip your soul while giving you a kiss.
I’m just a humble writer trying to be a novelist. I’ve been compared to Stephen King. That’s no accident. I didn’t grow up trying to copy him. I wouldn’t dare. I just read most of his books and adopted his style. But seriously, if you’re going to learn, why not learn from one of the best?
Am I right? Or should I say, am I write? Yeah, I know…sad humor.
Contact Links
Website    Facebook    Twitter    Blog    Video    Pinterest    YouTube    Instagram
My Review
5 stars

We start this story out with a very eye catching scene that will make you wonder what kind of book you just started reading. From there we meet up with detective Harry looking into a suicide. But something is going on and he learns that the victim has something to do with the kidnapping of a son that he never knew he had. He also learns that his life has been manipulated by those with paranormal abilities.

But as he tries to find his son, he also has to deal with the baby mama, Evelyn. Evie has some serious powers and has tried to step away from them. But with the disappearance of her son she is jumping head long into those powers. This kidnapping is going to take Harry to the brink of the unknown but also may just kill the last trace of humanity in Evie.

So I have not read the first book in this series but I had no trouble figuring out what was going on. Harry is a great guy and I only wanted him to find his son. You can’t blame him when he learns that the paranormal has been messing with him for the last ten years. But how is he supposed to feel when his own partner seems to have that missing information that he really needed.

There was action, paranormal abilities, and good old horror thrown in. This is a great read and one that I recommend checking out. I can’t wait to see what I missed with book one and to see what trouble Harry is going to find next.

I received a complimentary copy of this book. I voluntarily chose to read and post an honest review.

RABT Book Tours & PR
I would like to thank Reading Addiction Virtual Book Tours for the opportunity to read and share this book.

Flower Girl Murder by Keith HirshlandFlower Girl Murder by Keith Hirshland

Publisher: Keith Hirshland (February 15, 2018)
Category: Mystery Thriller, Detective/Police Procedural
Tour dates: May/June, 2018
ISBN: 978-0692046685
Available in Print and ebook,256 pages

Flower Girl Murder

Daisy Burns was a likable, devoted wife and mother who spent her spare time volunteering at school events. Everyone loved Daisy. So why would someone shoot her three times and dump her body behind a Planned Parenthood chapter in North Carolina?

With no witnesses and few leads, Raleigh detective Marc Allen turns to the press for help—specifically, veteran news anchor Lancaster Heart. Heart agrees to broadcast the police department’s plea for information in his nightly newscasts.

Elderly viewer and longtime social worker Blanche Avery is positive she recognizes the photograph on the television as an older version of her friend Daisy— the young, heavily pregnant girl she met years before who made the decision to give her child up for adoption.

When Tanner Goochly Jr.—a member of a notorious crime family—becomes the victim of another point-blank shooting, Allen races to discover the connection between the murders. Could it be that Daisy was somehow involved with an illegal enterprise, or was she hiding something else, another secret to be discovered?

The body count is rising, and the suspect pool is widening. As Allen’s investigation reaches a fever pitch, he realizes that a mother’s choice could have killer consequences.

Buy Flower Girl Murder by Keith Hirshland

Amazon     Barnes and Noble     IndieBound

Praise Flower Girl Murder by Keith Hirshland

“Keith Hirshland gets better with each book. A wonderful crime mystery with fun twists. And if you have ever spent time in Carolina or Northern Nevada there are quite a few local tidbits to enjoy mixed in. I look forward to more from the media guy turned novelist! This is his best book yet!”-Bruce, Amazon Review

Praise Big Flies by Keith Hirshland

“Big Flies by Keith Hirshland is a great read. I found myself intrigued by this talented writer’s style. A mystery woven into another mystery. The suspense was great. I enjoyed following the characters throughout the book. This novel was realistic, stunning, and one that all readers can easily connect to in one or more ways. Brilliant, clever, and mysterious. Keith Hirshland has a way that lured me in deep. I couldn’t stop reading it. ‘Big Flies’ is one mystery I highly recommend to all. 5 Stars.”-Danielle, Urban Book Reviews

“Mr. Hirshland’s style is both engaging and entertaining. He has written and delivered a thoroughly wonderful tale of mystery and intrigue. Will the author continue to write fiction? If this first novel is any indication, I certainly hope so!”-LuAnn, Back Porchervations

“Get ready, sit back, and enjoy this book, because the author really has a way with words as well as a fun and fascinating plot at hand. If you love action and surprises, you will get your fill here. If you enjoy things on the humorous and witty side, this book will fit the bill that way as well. Big Flies has plenty of great characters (both past and present), good buddies to enjoy you’ll want to be pals with too, a bit of mystifying romance, and some vivid and marvelous scenes. There will be mystery stacked upon mystery, some cool 8 track tapes with great choices in music thrown in, and fantastic, detailed twists. Get swept up in this fabulous, fun mystery by Keith Hirshland!”-Jean, Snap Out Of It Jean

“I really enjoyed following along with each person as you discover more about each one along with how four unsolved mysteries may be linked to everything. I admit that the beginning was a touch slow as you start learning about Chester and Leland, but then the story takes off like a flash. This is a great adventure and one that I recommend you check out. You will not be disappointed. 5 Stars.”-Jessica, J Bronder Book Reviews

About Keith HirshlandFlower Girl Murder by Keith Hirshland

Award winning author, Keith Hirshland is an Emmy Award–winning sports television producer with more than three decades of experience producing shows that aired on ESPN and ESPN2. Among the first forty people to be hired by the Golf Channel in 1994, Hirshland was in the middle of the action when it premiered in 1995. He provided his talents for the golf network for close to two decades.

The Flower Girl Murder is Hirshland’s second novel and third book. Big Flies, his first mystery novel, was published in 2016. It is the winner of the New Apple Awards: Solo Medalist Award and runner up for the 2016 Shelf Unbound Best Indie Book of the Year. Cover Me Boys, I’m Going In: Tales of the Tube from a Broadcast Brat is a memoir about his experiences in the television industry. It was Book Talk Radio Club’s Memoir of the Year”.

Hirshland lives in New Jersey with his wife and Bernese mountain dog.

Website     Facebook     Twitter

My Review

5 stars

Daisy Burns is you typical wife and mother that cared about her family and volunteered. Until her body is discovered with three bullet holes behind a Planned Parenthood in North Carolina. No clues are found so the police turn to the news to look for tips. An elderly woman thinks she recognizes Daisy. Then a gangster turns up killed in the same manor. How can these two be related?

I read Big Flies and I was very excited to read The Flower Girl Murder. I have to admit that I had a hard time getting into this book. But once things starting rolling I couldn’t put the book down. This book does have a good mystery for who killed Daisy, Tanner, and the rest. But there is so much more in regards to family and secrets.

This is a great story and one that after I got into it I couldn’t put it down. I like how the deaths were linked. There were lots of twists and turns that kept me guessing along the way. This is one mystery I would recommend checking out.

I received a complimentary copy of this book. I voluntarily chose to read and post an honest review.

Giveaway Flower Girl Murder by Keith Hirshland

This giveaway is for one print copy or ebook copy of the book. Print is available to the U.S. only but ebook is available worldwide. This giveaway ends on June 29, 2018 at midnight pacific time. Entries are accepted via Rafflecopter only.

a Rafflecopter giveaway
https://widget-prime.rafflecopter.com/launch.js

Follow Flower Girl Murder by Keith Hirshland Tour

Teddy Rose Book Reviews Plus May 1 Interview

Dawn Bound 2 Escape May 2 Excerpt

Aurora Amazon Review May 3 Review

Lu Ann Rockin’ Book Reviews May 4 Review

Vicki I’d Rather Be At The Beach May 7 Review

Sherry My Reading Journeys May 10 Review

Stephan Amazon Review May 14 Review

Kathleen Jersey Girl Book Reviews May 18 Review

Liz Devoted Mommy of 3 May 24 Review & Excerpt

Shannon The Pulp and Mystery Shelf June 11 Interview

Jess JBronder Book Reviews June 22 Review

Mindy A Room Without Books is Empty June 28 Review

Lillie Amazon Review June 29 Review

Flower Girl Murder by Keith Hirshland

I would like to thank Teddy at Virtual Author Book Tours for the opportunity to read and share this book.

This Little Piggy

This Little Piggy by Rob Ashman

Kevin Palmer is a regular sort of guy, or he was until his life fell apart. His wife, his money, his business and his reputation are all taken away from him. He tries to fight back and ends up in prison.

There he concocts elaborate fantasies to wreak vengeance. He is sent to work in an abattoir and the final piece of the jigsaw falls into place with chilling consequences. Then a cruel twist of fate changes everything.

DI Rosalind Kray is battling her own demons having returned to work following a brutal attack. She finds herself on the trail of a sick and twisted killer and cracks the macabre pattern of murders. But her boss is unconvinced.

Kray has Palmer squarely in her sights. But he has other ideas …

Can Kray break him in time to save the final victim?

Time is running out.

Goodreads

Author’s Bio

Rob is married to Karen with two grown up daughters. He is originally from South Wales and after moving around with work settled in North Lincolnshire where he’s spent the last twenty-two years.

Like all good welsh valley boys Rob worked for the National Coal Board after leaving school at sixteen and went to University at the tender age of twenty-three when the pit closures began to bite. Since then he’s worked in a variety of manufacturing and consulting roles both in the UK and abroad.

It took Rob twenty-four years to write his first book. He only became serious about writing it when his dad got cancer. It was an aggressive illness and Rob gave up work for three months to look after him and his mum. Writing Those That Remain became his coping mechanism. After he wrote the book his family encouraged him to continue, so not being one for half measures, Rob got himself made redundant, went self-employed so he could devote more time to writing and four years later the Mechanic Trilogy is the result.

When he is not writing, Rob is a frustrated chef with a liking for beer and prosecco, and is known for occasional outbreaks of dancing.

Rob published the Mechanic Trilogy with Bloodhound Books in 2017 and will be releasing three new books during 2018. These are titled: Faceless, This Little Piggy and Suspended Retribution.

Website     Facebook      Twitter

 

Guest Post

Writing This Little Piggy was a journey of discovery for me. Anyone who has read my previous four books will realise that my villains are psychotic individuals with a pre-disposed urge to kill. But when I wrote about Kevin Palmer, the protagonist in This Little Piggy, he was nothing like that and it threw me completely.

I found when I sat down to write about him I could not find his voice. I had the story that wrapped around his character but not him. So, I did what I normally do when faced with a writing problem, I shared it with my long-suffering wife. Having first poured her a large glass of wine.

I described the situation to Karen and she said, ‘Well, maybe he’s not who you think he is.’ And that was it. That was the sum total of her wisdom. Rubbish advice I thought and took back the wine – joke, that’s a dangerous thing to attempt.

The following week we were out with friends and out of the blue Kevin started talking to me. His first words were, ‘This is not a story about a psycho, Rob, this is a story about revenge.’

As usual my wife was right, Kevin was not the guy I was trying to portray. His motivations were different to anyone I had ever written about before.

Once I had that straight in my head Kevin came to life and did some eye watering things, some of which even made me wince.

Kevin Palmer stretched me as a writer and I hope readers will enjoy his character.

Dig Two Graves

39798695

Dig Two Graves by Hend Salah

In the blurred lines between good and evil – who will win?

Jezebel White is a court-appointed psychologist who runs an underground human trafficking empire.

In order to justify her nefarious actions to her conscience, she selects victims based solely upon whom she deems immoral.
Now, she finds herself being framed for a crime she had only intended to commit.

A detective has placed a target on Jezebel’s back, and the time to catch her predator is quickly running out

Amazon     Barnes and Noble     Goodreads

 

My Review

4 Stars

Jezebel White is a court-appointed psychologist that is supposed to be helping people. But her real job is as a human trafficker and she uses her patients. But to justify it in her mind, Jezebel only picks those that really deserve it and won’t be missed. But then Detective Asher Wilson shows up looking for a missing girl, Athena Elias. He has Jezebel in his sights and is trying to prove she killed Athena. Jezebel on the other hand is being framed for Athena’s death and must figure out who I after her.

This is a cold and brutal story. Jezebel clearly has issues and is not a likable character at all, I mean she is a human trafficker. But there is way more to this story than just Jezebel getting framed or Athena’s death. Jezebel is cold and manipulative and clearly doesn’t care for anyone but herself. But she has her own past and will make you question her behaviors.

This was a good yet brutal psychological thriller. It makes you question that fine line of if Jezebel is really a brutal killer when she is taking care of those that have clearly done wrong.

I received a complimentary copy of this book. I voluntarily chose to read and post an honest review.

I would like to thank Sherri Rosen Publicity for the opportunity to read and share this book.