Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for August 19th, 2016

23387118

The Swiss Family RobinZOM (Book – 1) by Perrin Briar

Once bitten, the virus spreads throughout the human body. It shuts down organs, kills nerve impulses and even reprograms the way we think. The virus becomes us.

Trapped aboard a ferry destined for their new life in the Philippines, the Robinsons learn of the virus sweeping across the planet. Early symptoms include a hacking cough, shortness of breath, and deathly pale skin. The exact same symptoms shared by a fellow passenger.

Torn between warning the rest of the passengers and preventing full-scale panic, the Robinsons do everything they can to help. But are the choices they make right for everyone or just themselves?

The classic tale, inspired by Robinson Crusoe, written by Johann David Wyss, adapted by Perrin Briar, is an adrenalin-pumping adventure of zombie survival. If your family was trapped on a doomed ship, what would you do?
love-books-1

My Review

4 stars

The Robinsons are on a ferry heading to their new life in the Philippines. But while on the ferry they learn of a zombie plague striking the world. This leads to them getting stranded on an island and fighting for survival on the uninhabited island and against the zombies.

This is a spin of the original Swiss Family Robinson story. I admit that I have not read the book but a long time ago I did watch the Disney version. This did kind of follow along and was a quick read. I like the added zombies, being a zombie fan that was the one thing that really drew me to this story.

If you are looking for a quick zombie story I would recommend reading The Swiss Family RobinZOM. This is a 12 part series so do expect a quick pace and sudden endings.

To purchase The Swiss Family RobinZOM make sure to visit Amazon, Barnes and Noble, Goodreads and Perrin Briar’s website.

I purchased this story on Kindle on the recommendation of one of Perrin Briar’s launch team.

Advertisements

Read Full Post »

The Last Bucelarii

25269614

Blade of the Destroyer (The Last Bucelarii – 1) by Andy Peloquin

The Hunter of Voramis is the perfect assassin: ruthless, unrelenting, immortal. Haunted by lost memories, he is bonded to a cursed dagger that feeds him power but denies him peace of mind. Within him rages an unquenchable need for blood and death.
When he accepts a contract to avenge the stolen innocence of a girl, the Hunter becomes the prey. The death of a seemingly random target sends him hurtling toward destruction, yet could his path also lead to the truth of his buried past?

Amazon     Barnes and Noble     Goodreads

My Review

5 stars

The Hunter is an assassin that has no memory of his past. He has been bonded to the blade called Bloodhunger. Bloodhunger demands blood and the souls of its victims and when it is hungry it calls to The Hunter. Because of the bond, The Hunter can quickly heal from wounds, has a super tracking ability and is super strong. He accepts assassin jobs but he is not completely evil, there are moments where he helps others. The problem is an assassination of a Lord starts more trouble for The Hunter than what he was expecting. He will learn about his past if he can survive those hunting him.

This is a great story with a wonderful anti-hero. The Hunter may seem like an immortal but he is human. He doesn’t remember his past but tries not to focus on that. He uses his assassinations to feed Blooghunger but that doesn’t always happen in time and Bloodhunger has no problem driving The Hunter to find a victim. But The Hunter does help those less fortunate and he is about to learn more about himself than he really wanted to.

There is so much to this book. A wonderful setting that is well developed. A great character that seems dark but has moments of light and an amazing story. This is Andy Peloquin’s first book and it does not read like it. This is a well-developed story that draws you in and races at a breakneck pace until the end.

30973111

Lament of the Fallen (The Last Bucelarri – 2)

The Hunter of Voramis is no more.

Alone with the bloodthirsty voices in his head, fleeing the pain of loss, he has one objective: travel north to find Her, the mystery woman who plagues his dreams and haunts his memories.
When he stumbles upon a bandit attack, something within urges him to help. His actions set him at odds with the warrior priests commanded to hunt down the Bucelarii.
Left for dead, the Hunter must travel to Malandria to recover his stolen birthright. There, he is inexorably drawn into direct conflict with the Order of Midas, the faceless, nameless group of magicians that holds the city in a grip of terror. All while struggling to silence the ever-louder voice in his mind that drives him to kill.
From feared assassin to wretched outcast, the Hunter’s journey leads him to truths about his forgotten past and the Abiarazi he has pledged to hunt. His discoveries will shed light on who he really is…what he really is.

Fans of Joe Abercrombie, Brandon Sanderson, and Brent Weeks will love the Hunter…

My Review

5 stars

The Hunter has left Voramis. He doesn’t really have any plans but he is drawn North to a mystery woman. But in his travels he comes across a bandit attack and is drawn to help them. From there everything seems to go from bad to worse. He heads to Malandria to retrieve Soulhunger but he is too weak. Unfortunately without Soulhunger he is only at half power. Thus starts a battle with the Order of Midas.

The Hunter has changed his ways. Now he is trying not to kill but that just seems to make the calling for blood that much more powerful. It also seems that no matter where he goes things are going to get worse before there is a glimmer of better. The Hunter is trying to be a better person but it just feels like he is just struggling weakly at his lot in life. Plus when he finds out someone has knowledge of Bucelarri he is drawn to find out more about his past.

I love this series. The Hunter is such a great character. With his heritage he is trying to fight an uphill battle but he is determined to try to stop the killing. It’s a little sad to see how he was this killer assassin and how far he has fallen.

This is an amazing epic fantasy story. It’s easy to get sucked into the book and not want to leave until the last page. I can’t wait to see what happens in the next book. I hope at some point The Hunter can find what he is looking for.

I received Blade of the Destroyer and Lament of the Fallen for free from the author and Dreams and Screams Bookaholics in exchange for an honest review.

Amazon     Barnes and Noble     Goodreads

Andy Peloquin

Andy Peloquin has loved to read since before he could remember. Sherlock Holmes, the Phantom of the Opera, and Father Brown are just a few of the books that ensnared his imagination as a child.

When he discovered science fiction and fantasy through the pages of writers like Edgar Rice Burroughs, J.R.R Tolkien, and Orson Scott Card, he was immediately hooked and hasn’t looked back since.

Andy’s first attempt at writing produced In the Days: A Tale of the Forgotten Continent. He has learned from the mistakes he made and used the experience to produce Blade of the Destroyer, a book of which he is very proud.

Reading—and now writing—is his favorite escape, and it provides him an outlet for his innate creativity. He is an artist; words are his palette.

Website

Read Full Post »